Conquering the lonely mountain (Mt. Taranaki, New Zealand)

in #travel7 years ago

Mount Taranaki, the lonely mountain. 5th of June 2017. Welcome back to another epic episode of my weekend trips through New Zealand. During my journey across the North Island in November, Marcell and I had already stopped here at Mount Taranaki on the North Island of New Zealand. We had tried to climb the volcano but had had to turn around about 500 meters of altitude below the top due to the adverse weather conditions and too much snow. But now, almost three months later the harsh New Zealand sun had done its job and had molten away most of the snow. So while I was on my way back to the South Island to meet my parents for the first time in over half a year, I decided to stop at the Mt Taranaki Visitor Centre and take another try to conquer the mountain.


(farm1.nzstatic.com


What a beautiful day to climb a volcano, clear blue sky and tepid temperatures around 25 degrees Celsius.


The track leading up to the summit starts as a very wide and almost flat road that soon turns into a narrow and very steep path.


The typical New Zealand tussock grass


A wooden staircase is leading adventurers over vast and incredibly steep fields of small rocks and gravel. In the background you can still see the lodge and the transmitter mast.


This was the point where Marcell and I had to turn around last November. The path was completely blocked with ice and snow and there was absolutely no way to go any further. Fortunately it looked a wee bit different this time of the year.


After another two hours of climbing I finally reached the summit! So here are some impressions from the top of the mountain, that constantly tried to conceal itself in fog and clouds.


(https://teara.govt.nz/en/photograph/25244/mt-taranaki)

Mount Taranaki, it was an honor!

If you liked this adventure and would like to see more, please like this post and follow me for more epic weekend trips around New Zealand.
My original blogpost can be found on http://fredinnewzealand.blogspot.co.at

Sort:  

nice to meet you!!
I’m @kr-panda Start by following people and they will do the same.
Have a good day
panda-151587_640.png