MONASTERY OF POBLET

in #travel6 years ago

The Royal Abbey of Santa Maria de Poblet is a Cistercian Monastery founded in 1151. Surrounded by walls in a beautiful setting , this is one of the beautiful best preserved medieval monasteries in the world.
It is located at the foot of the beautiful Prades mountains in the Catalonia region of Spain.
I could see this beautiful monastery on my way to Barcelona from Madrid.

This monastery was originally built by Cistercian monks from France. later it suffered serious damages during the first Carliot War. In the years that followed this Monastery fell in to despair and ruin. Finally it was refounded in the year 1940.
Many Kings and Queens are buried . Tombs of Kings have lion sculptures at their feet while Queens have dog sculptures at their feet.

Below is the photo of the main bell towers

Sort:  

Awesome post... , delighted to UPVOTE and FOLLOW...check me out..and if you like my posts or videos, delighted if you can return the compliment.
See my videos here :-

I am indeed happy to like your posts