GLT girl dreaming of being back in Hawaii

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Any members of GLT on Steem yet? Let's follow each other and share our travel pics!

Hey Steemians! I've been on a Hawaii kick lately so here are some more pics from my last trip to Kauai.
I just love Hawaii SOOOO much! The people love and respect the land, the spirit of Aloha permeates everything! It's different there than in the rest of the US...the land is charged! It's such a spiritual place and you can even feel the mana when you are there! I can't wait to return! I hope to live there one day! These are from hiking the first part of the Kalalau Trail down to Hanakapiai Beach.
On the way to Ke'e Beach

Walking along the beach to the entrance of the trail

The start of the trail!

Think it may be dangerous?

Welcome to the jungle...

Up, up, up, we go!

Emerging out of the jungle for the first real vista! What a view!

See that beach down there? Remember the coconut pic? I took it down there!

The path is straight up in many parts and not very wide! Jungle all around...

and a sea of blue by your side!

This is about mid way where you start heading back down to Hanakapiai Beach. You can kinda catch a glimpse of it through the jungle sometimes...


My reward for the long hike! I could have spent a week here on this beautiful secluded beach!

If you decide to do this trail, it is best to start early morning. It takes an average of four hours just for the hiking and you want time to enjoy the beach too! There is also an awesome waterfall if you turn inland and hike another two miles in. I did not do it this time, but I will next time for sure. Keep in mind the parking lots fill up fast so that's another reason to get an early start. It's a good idea to bring a little lunch and enjoy it on the beach when you arrive. Make sure you bring lots of water too bc this is a strenuous hike and it gets HOT!

Have you done this hike? What did you think about it? Let me know in the comments!!