I am back from my cruise to Cuba

in #travel7 years ago

 I took a trip to Cuba this week, a last minute deal that all told was about $700-ish for the cruise, taxes, Cuban visa, parking my car at the port terminal and the cruise came with an unlimited drink/open bar so no additional charges for booze.

You can't visit a country like Cuba and not be moved. The average Cuban makes $25-$35 a month. A bar of soap there is $6. There are no supermarkets. Stores are hole in the wall places with about 12 different things on display behind a counter. I brought my wrapped bar of soap and hand lotion off the boat and gave it to an elderly lady on the street. A small bar of soap is really nothing to the average American but it is such an out of reach luxury item to an average Cuban. I wish I had really done more research and brought more soap and also items for the few animal clinics trying to help the street dogs and cats. Grinding poverty isn't just for the people, the animals are suffering greatly also. You walk away feeling very lucky and grateful you were born in a country where you can take so much for granted. Our version of 'poor' is nothing compared to a place like Cuba.  

Sort:  

Yes, Cuba is a wonderful country. I went there about 10 years ago for about 2 weeks, and had a great time.

Many of the people are quite poor, but they seem to have a decent life regardless. I met many Cubans whose only entertainment was music and dancing (well, and rum). They spent a lot of time dancing, and they were genuinely happy.

Of course, they would like to improve their standard of living. But for now, they tried to make the best of their situation.

If anyone has a chance to go to Cuba, I'd say .... Go!

nice

keep supporting each other.