I known why @heiditravels ditched @fyrstikken!

in #travel8 years ago
As Vanilla Ice quoted "Drop that zero and get with the hero",

this time the hero not being a person but a place,  Cape Town.

Once hearing of Heidi traveling to Cape Town via Istanbul, as a proud ambassador of my country, i wanted to meetup and that’s what we did.

You see @fyrstikken, it doesn't take dissing, being ugly but simply inviting for a bite and beer with allot of friendliness. One resolution from early 2016 that resides with me is 'Don't be a Dick', yip.

I don't have any photo's from the meetup nor did i use the meetup to gain popularity or Steem, I used the opportunity and interest to meetup with a fellow traveler, to de-myth some South African negative views and yeah to have a good excuse to grab a cold beer and burger, Oh and make a couple new friends too :)

What did i learn from this experience?

  • Heidi is cool
  • I love my country.
  • I want to travel more.

I committed to Heidi that in 10 months i would be perusing my goals, time set & committed.

PS: Only evidence i have of the meetup is the below;

Sort:  

hopefully I will try to see her in Egypt end of the month if the timing is right.-she comes across as a great person and with lots of interesting things to talk about.

Awesome - yeah make the effort - Heidi is cool and i also know how it is when traveling, always gr8 receiving some local advice.

This is how Steemit should be working.

& @haiditravels or anyone In case you are changing planes in Dubai, will buy you beer :)

Good to know, agree, our community is so much bigger than just this platform

"One resolution from early 2016 that resides with me is 'Don't be a Dick', yip."

+1 Gordob. I resonate with this.

I think fyrstikken may have reacted a bit over the top on all of this.
Not sure further witch hunting the guy is needed though. I think he feels poorly enough about it now that he's had time to cool down.

Yo Klye, a little tongue and cheek in this post but 2 messages i think important are;

  1. If you are that Zero, make every effort not to be, people don't dig it
  2. Every citizen should be an ambassador for there own country

Congratulations @gord0b! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!