First National Park of the Road Trip - a Presidents get away

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Last summer, my brother and I set out for a 3 month road trip across America. We roughed it, slept on cots in the back of his truck as well as tents. To be honest, I probably wouldn't want it any other way after the fact. It really connected us with the land and we met a lot more people by roughing it.

In those 3 months, we slept in a hotel once! Feel free to ask any questions you may have. I won't spend time on this as I plan to write more about how we travelled and got by in the future.

Anyway, here is a pic of us in Vermont the day we hit the road. 20170523_113926.jpg

Our first stop was Theodore Roosevelt National Park and at the time we didn't realize it, but it was top 3 in our book.

Here's why:

This was my tent and what I woke up to on the first morning
20170526_100420.jpg

20170526_100429.jpg

Many Bison roamed the land and seem to be more and more comfortable around humans. 20170526_115007.jpg

The views we're incredible and it's not hard to tell why Theodore Roosevelt had a camp here

20170526_113428.jpg

20170526_113426.jpg20170526_104326.jpg

The historic Little Missouri River cuts right through the park

20170526_145039.jpg

We spent 2 nights here and made the most of it by hiking through the park to where the bison roam in more remote areas. Unfortunately my phone died during this trip and I could not get a massive herd protecting it's young by forming a circle around them. We couldn't tell if we spooked the herd or if there were rival bison that spooked them. Either way it was amazing to witness in real time.

Sort:  

I guess my biggest question is how on earth did both you and your brother find the time and money to take a 3 month trip?! I’m so jealous, haha. But seriously, were either of you working at the time?

lol that is the main question I hear. I work a sales job and my boss loved the idea, so he allowed me to work remotely for that time through my phone. That was hard to keep up with projects, but I made it work.

My brother works at a ski resort all winter long and saved up to take the trip.

It was pretty amazing that it worked out. I was ready to quit my job if my boss said no anyway in order to make it happen lol!

Hello @gzthesnowman,
a very nice and impressive travel post, congratulations!
More people should read posts like this, that's why we created the project
@wonderlamp, to give undervalued Steemians a little bit more audience.
Much love and best regards
@wonderlamp
wonderlampsmall.png
resteemed, followed and upvoted

Thank you! Your page looks great. Followed