Northern Thailand roads on motorbike? My best biker experience ever!

in #travel7 years ago

20170310_181648.jpg

It was the second week in March 2017 I have landed on Chiang Mai airport. The plan was rent some bigger bike and hit them famous Thai roads. I can recommend probably the biggest bike rental shop I've seen there called POP RIDER. I was bit worry at the first moment, because the bikes are not insured, but that's how it is over there. So you better not crash it or you have to pay all the damage! Honda CB500X is not really my cup of tea, (I own GSXR1000 K8) but it had two side boxes and one more box on the top, so all my belongings have fitted in.

20170310_084209.jpg

I don't really want to post here any long stories or advices, there is many on YouTube. Just want to mention a few things what I was surprised, disappointed or was't expecting so. It was my first time in Thailand, so first of all in this time of the year is everything very dry. As you can see on the picture brown leaves or no leaves on trees at all. My bad! If you want to visit Northern Thailand in its best, you should go at November. On the next pic is a view from one of the places I stayed. Got up early in the morning that day to see the sunrise. Absolutely stunning! I would like to sit there every morning, watch and listen the sounds of the local nature. The owner told me there is many Thai people coming in November to spent some time here, because there is yellow flower everywhere on the hills.

20170311_065609_HDR.jpg

One of things on my list was the road to Pai – Motorbiking from Chiang Mai to Pai (Route 1095) There are 762 turns on the road from Chiang Mai to Pai. It's actually one of the most famous roads to ride a bike in the world. I could't miss this! If you are biker and you enjoy the corners, you will feel like in bikers heaven! It's like never ending fun. Have to say I have ridden about 1100 miles on this whole trip and its very similar on the other roads too. There was like may be 10 miles of straight parts together. Which suddenly was a problem for me, because I realized I cannot make the destinations what I planned. Normally anywhere in Europe I count about 65 miles per hour as average speed to reach the longer destinations during the road trip. Forget about it in Thailand :D So I must have to cancel my bookings for the next stops. Never make a plans! I spent most of the time around Pai. Met many good people there and had a lot of fun.

20170311_133718.jpg
20170312_173407.jpg

Two more things I want to mention. Be really carefull in the corners, because the bike rental companies are using hard compound tyres!!! It may not stick to the road as you expect. And the last thing is... That bike I had is usually 1000 BHT per day.
I had it for week so got bargain 800 BHT p/d. You can rent a scooter for 150 BHT p/d anywhere. Let me tell you on this sneaky roads is the bigger bike not necessary and the usual 125ccm scooter is good enough. It's a big difference, so if you want to save your money stay on the scooter. I would't get the lazy CBX500 for this money again.
So thank you for yor attention and if you busy at your work in summer and can't get a holiday, think about this kind of adventure in winter. It's worthed :)

20170312_071050.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing view. A lot of corners, motorcycles and much more.... Respect ;)

Fantastic post!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No. 13 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Please resteem the Max Curation Edition so that all your followers also feel proud of you, and make it a point to visit your upcoming posts. Resteeming my post will also grant the curation effort more visibility. Thanks!

Don't forget to follow me so that you can receive the Curated Editions in your feed.

Congratulations and Steem On!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

OK , will post more posts like this if I get some more time to write it down.

You respond a bit to late.

Great post. i love it

Congratulations @habros! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!