Relationship Status: I'm with Steemit

in #travel8 years ago

steemitID

So I've been noticing that many users want to verify that the photos being used are truly the property of those posting them.

So here's my proof, It's really me I swear!

After working at my dad's screen press sign shop for 15 years of my life (Yes, I started working there when I was 12...) I decided that maybe I should look into other ways to make money. Becoming a digital nomad is a completely new and very exciting concept to me. I never really felt happy about the thought of having to go to some job and do the same thing day in and day out with the hopes of maybe getting a week vacation once a year.

shop

Nope, I've only got this one life to live and there's no way I'm voluntarily spending it in the rat race.

Some people (my family) think I'm a dreamer and I'm being unrealistic. This is when I realize that I can make major life decisions based on what they want, or based on what I want. Yes this is a risk and I often stress about the unknown that I'm throwing myself into. The fact is I'd rather risk it and live a life full of adventure then play it safe and always wonder what if.

I fully believe in myself and my capability to be successful online. After running my own website and building a couple other sites for some people I've met during my travels, I feel even more motivated and excited now that I've discovered this wonderful platform that is STEEMIT! Seriously I feel like this place is an absolute Godsend for me.
Cryptocurrencies, blockchains and decentralization is the beginning of a whole new world of possibilities for people. I count myself incredibly blessed to be a part of this movement.

Any other digital nomads out there who care to share some tips? Or any of you interested in adopting this lifestyle and you need some help? Let use this platform to help each other and make great things happen!

Much love to you all, Talk to you soon :)

Sort:  

Thanks to you, Im loving this Platform already :D

Hello nice to meet you, we are all enjoying your posts! I am also a digital nomad (even though I'm starting to hate that phrase). Well by accident really, I have been doing this location independent thing for 3 years. My goal was turning my passion of music production into a career. I achieved it by starting my own online business, 1 year later I went on a trip with some friends. Next thing you know 3 weeks turned into 18 months. And if you fancy, there is the whole element of geoarbitrage, living in countries where there currency isn't as strong as what you are making in. Money has practical value, $10 is not the same everywhere.

If you ever have any questions about the digital nomad life style, getting more clients, work-life balance and such feel free to let me know. I love this lifestyle and I discuss it in my first post here :
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jetsetter/hi-a-little-about-my-life-style-design-while-i-tickle-the-ivories-and-talk-fulltime-globetrotting

Great article, I've been reading your other stuff, I can't wait to read more; it's great that we're attracting more and more people like you, libertarians, anarchists, nonconformists :-)

CG

Makes me happy to hear your enjoying my writing, no worries, I'll keep it coming.

I'd like to have a t-shirt that says "anarchy". That way when I'm feeling lonely I can wear it to the airport and enjoy all the attention the TSA would give me.

Lolz :-)

Or for that extra special attention Anarchy Makes You Panicky!

CG

@shamusmac lots of the right kinds of people here to bounce your ideas off. Maybe together we'll create a 'V' of our own.

"I've only got this one life to live and there's no way I'm voluntarily spending it in the rat race."

Exactly. There is a better way to live, on a path that is true to yourself. Dont waste energy on conformity. Humanity needs dreamers and explorers more than ever, because its the few who dare to follow their dreams who will lead humanity to the salvation we so desperately yearn for.

Welcome to the community.

Follow a fellow nomad on http://instagram.com/jupiter0100

Enjoy some alien music
Http://soundcloud.com/jupitermusic

Dream on, fellow space traveler. Nice space suit.

Couldn't stop listening. I could listen and just carry on working in peace! Great stuff dude!
I just noticed that your Instagram link is broken!

Surfing the infinite wave was an interesting track. Listening to more! Good stuff @jupiter00000

Welcome..Happy Steeming!!! You are very pretty:)

Hi,

So many opportunities to become self sustaining online without the need to sign your life away to the 8-6 (when was it ever the 9-5?) for 30+ years. I have a love/hate relationship with technology but it has meant there are now opportunities to work from anywhere in the world if you're happy to give up the trappings of modern life. Best of luck and keep us all posted.

If you learn to program you will be a true digital nomad.

Always room for improvement!

alao is right programming is most likely the best way to become completely nomad. I already make a good income from the web by developing mobile apps, and i am trying to improve even further.

Anyway i am curious i read you invested in ether in the early days (i should have done the same :) ) is this money you are using to travel around?

Ether helped me establish a solid foundation but I've been saving those for the most part since I believe it will continue to grow in price. I've had to return to the States a couple times now to work and save up money (Last summer I lived in Colorado and worked as a waitress at my uncle's pizza restaurant for 3 months and I might be returning to my dad's sign shop for a month) but now with #steemit I'm getting really excited that I'll be able to make it a full year or more of traveling the globe without needing to return to work and replenish my funds.

I also have a good amount invested in Ether so i was kinda crushed when it crashed some weeks ago but i have learn to let it go because i also believe Ether has a really bright future!

I have been in New York 2 years ago and went on a quick visit to Pennysilvania, but didnt had a chance to visit more states.

I mean US is so big if you compare to Portugal! I mean the distance from Niagara Falls to New York is almost the same from North to South of Portugal :)

I really believe you can make a living just from the web/steemit so keep your blog going ;)

I really want to be a digital nomad, like you!! You inspired me :) thank you for that!

Awesome :) Right now I feel like I'm on a trapeze with no safety net below. It's scary but incredibly motivating to completely commit to figuring out how to be successful. WAY more motivating to me than college. ;) Good luck and I'll be here if you wanna bounce ideas around!

u'll have a safety net below :P STEEEEEEEEEEEEEEM

So far you're very right. I plan on investing most of my profits here with bitcoin, hoping that the halving will boost its price like it did 4 years ago :)

Hello Heidi, welcome to Steemit! Your life journey intentions are very similar to mine. Nice to meet you. I have been trying to steer my life in a direction where I avoid the trappings of the rat race for as long as I can remember. To date I have set up my own freelance niche yoga business, built the website and offer sessions remotely as and when, I do other freelance presenting work at the weekends, I do the odd paid music gigs here and there, have tried my hand at cryptocurrency day trading (around the clock zombie style.....I don't advise), I've been messing around with matched betting too (again, I don't advise!) I create digital art/poetry fusions, have set-up a hemp based food blog recently, built a fermented health foods micro brewery and organic fruit and veg project, and now, like a breath of absolute fresh air, comes steemit into my world, like a Godsend! Well, let me tell you, so far I have nothing but great things to say about steemit, and I've only been a member here since yesterday. It's fantastic and I really do believe that the future for Steemit is very bright indeed. As a creative content writer myself it provides a revolutionary, and potentially very disruptive medium to the world, through which people like us can finally both benefit and contribute towards in meaningful ways. I'm really excited about this place. So, all I would say to you Heidi, is keep dreaming and following your own journey. I wish you the very best of luck going forward. Feel free to reach out to me if you ever want to share ideas or bang creative heads. I'm all ears. All the best :)

Smart, beautiful, and world traveler. You are definitely an interesting woman!

You should post a link to this thread in #introduceyourself . A little bird told me you'll get much more attention there.

I can only say with the utmost awesomeness that I truly envy you! Wish i could could just walk away and travel the world while i young enough to enjoy and have fun.

you are so beautiful :)

welcome and have a nice stay.

Wicked to see some good travel blogs! I am starting a vlog soon. Keep it up Heidi. Upvoted

I'll have to check out your vlog :) Thanks!

Hello nice to meet you, we are all enjoying your posts! I am also a digital nomad (even though I'm starting to hate that phrase). Well by accident really, I have been doing this location independent thing for 3 years. My goal was turning my passion of music production into a career. I achieved it by starting my own online business, 1 year later I went on a trip with some friends. Next thing you know 3 weeks turned into 18 months. And if you fancy, there is the whole element of geoarbitrage, living in countries where there currency isn't as strong as what you are making in. Money has practical value, $10 is not the same everywhere.

If you ever have any questions about the location independent lifestyle, getting more clients, work-life balance and such feel free to let me know. I love this lifestyle and I discuss it in my first post here :
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jetsetter/hi-a-little-about-my-life-style-design-while-i-tickle-the-ivories-and-talk-fulltime-globetrotting

happy steeming

Thanks for sharing this Heidi and best of luck!
I can't help thinking more and more about the "digital nomad" lifestyle and career because I'm into couchsurfing and i have hosted quite a few of these "digitial nomads" who live out of a suitcase and with their laptops and make their living literally on the go, while discovering the best of the planet!
However, this career has remained so far quite a daydream, because i have no real knowledge in website, design etc and no strong concept to apply to it. How would advise someone to proceed in that direction?

codecademy.com is a great free website that provides quality lessons that teach you everything from the basics of HTML to more advanced languages like Java and javascript and a number of others. I think that's a great way to start and see what peaks your interest after that. You can get into SEO work and offer help to websites that aren't hitting the top pages in google searches, or you can utilize squarespace.com and build really nice looking websites for people you meet or if you can think of local businesses that need a new or improved website.

wellcome