Surrealism in a Jungle

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Once my husband and I went to Las Pozas, one of the strangest pieces of art I have ever had the pleasure of  wandering around in. It's off the beaten tourism path in Mexico, near the town of Xilitla in the state of San Luis Potosi. There an eccentric Englishman, friend of Salvador Dali, created this amazing place, with the help of Mexican workmen.

Here I am in front of a row of concrete bamboo:


These photos were taken by my husband Kelly Hart. If you are curious to know more, here is a page about Las Pozas on a blog I haven't kept up since we stopped living in Mexico. That page is missing an image, sorry, but the text does go on about this marvelous place. Hot jungle so pick your time of year if you go there..

And here is an album of 25 of Kelly's Las Pozas images on Flicker.