Working Holiday #75 - Airlie Beach

in #travel6 years ago

Crazy Night to Remember 


Chris and I left the campsite at the Brunswick river, I just felt a little bit sorry for him that he couldn't enjoy Byron Bay for a while. I’ve been there last year already. We made a little stop before we went up to Airlie Beach. We stopped for the night at the Gold Coast, just 100km North from Brunswick Heads. We needed to rest a lot that night to be prepared for the following morning. I got used to the distances in Australia but to drive more than 1000 Kilometres in one day stays exhausting! Anyways, we arrived in the evening and went to one of the Backpackers to ask for a room for the night. After our check in I was thinking for the very fist time of going to an travel agency to book a trip to the Whitsunday’s, but the weather was too bad. In the end we didn't go to the national park and I still haven't been there so far!

The Backpackers where we stayed at provided some activities and that night they offered karaoke! Chris and me met many people there, drunk a lot and had so much fun! When it became late we decided to go into a Bar called Shenanigans… it was nice, the music was good but when i went in front of the bar for a cigarette, i got punched in my face, out of nowhere! Great way to spoil someone a good night. Aussies call that a ‘cheap shot’. After that ‘brave’ guy ran away I went back to the backpackers to get some sleep. We couldn’t stop laughing when we talked about that night, and Chris had very good news! While i got punched, he got a phone number from a construction company in Cairns! We called this number on the road from Airlie Beach to Cairns and got a job! At this point we had no idea what that job is going to mean to us in the future!