From Ife To Ibadan: Preparing For My Trip To Attend The Stach Meet-up In Ibadan

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180224_120839.jpg

Me with my back pack stuffed with all I need, just as I leave the apartment

What is the #Stach Meetup?

The #Stach meet-up is basically a gathering of all Steemit enthusiasts. It is like a mini Steemit festival. There’s going to be plenty of fun, insights and networking. I am quite excited as this is my fist time of attending such a meet up. (Maybe like a 16 year old girl on her first date.)

About the trip

SteemIbadan 20180224_114813.jpg
The meet-up holds today at, Ibadan, Oyo State by 2:00pm (Nigerian Time). I’m currently domiciled in Ife, Osun State, Nigeria. The journey between both locations will span about 1 hour, 30 minutes (including the time spent moving within the city, trying to locate the venue).

To ensure I arrive on time, I have decided to leave Ife at around 12:00 noon (Nigerian time). That gives me 2 hours for my journey; just enough time to make the trip and get myself settled before the event.

Am I nervous?

Yes. Just a bit though. I have an aunt in Ibadan who I visit once in a few years and even went there for a conference earlier this year, so Ibadan isn't entirely unfamiliar. But then, I have this feverish feeling like I’m visiting Ibadan for the first time. To assure myself, I have contacted a fellow Steemit friend for directions. I also have my phone handy in case I have to call on Google maps.

What are my expectations?

First, I hope to meet my fellow Nigerians who also use the Steemit space. Steemit is a wonderful place to make and interact with friends. But an opportunity to meet these people in person is something I also look forward to. At the event, I hope to meet the over 200 Steemit users in the Steemit Ibadan whatsapp group. Maybe not all of them will be present. Well, I will have my eyes searching for @sunshie, @jeaniepearl, @thelovejunkie, @gee1, @oluwalium @awolesigideon, @tojukaka @jo5h, @ejemai and @fisteganos.

Next, I hope to learn from about #Steemit. I read a lot and thee has been plenty of resoruces on Steemit to read. However, a live session would be awesome too. There, I will be ask all of the ‘foolish questions’ I have been storing in my head.

Finally, I hope to share what I have. Nah, I’m not talking about free SBD (although that could be in the offering too.) There are going to be a couple of Steemit newbies there. I hope to share my experiences, success tips and motivation to encourage them.

How my journey will be…

First, I’ll board a minibus (14 seater) here in Ife, that will take me to the park. There I’ll board another bus (18 seater) that will take me on the 1 hour trip to Ibadan. These buses are usually uncomfortable for me due to the small leg space provided. I usually compensate by sitting at the passenger seat, just beside the driver or at the right edge of the seat in the back of the car.

When I arrive Ibadan, I’ll change into a taxi that will take me into the city and then another taxi that will take me to the venue. The venue is a popular location in Ibadan and shouldn't be hard to find.

Upon arrival, I do a quick look around of the venue (for snipers, lol) and join the folks inside.

How prepared am I?

I am always forgetful. The last time I took a trip out of Osun State, I forgot to pick up my toothbrush. (You can be sure that’s already in my bag). Because I’m going to spend a day or two with my aunt after the event, I have packed a couple of clothes, my laptop, some essentials, a paperback novel and my jotter. I’ve got some cash to pay for the trip too.

Beyond that, I’m floating light - just the way I like to travel. Aunt’s going to provide for my upkeep (provided I behave myself properly, lol). But really, there isn’t much to prepare for. Steemit accommodates all so there isn’t any need to over impress.

A few facts about Oyo State and Osun State

I realise that many of my readers might be unfamiliar of these two locations. I’m going to be sharing with you my personal thoughts based on my learning and experience.

Once, they were one…

Ibadan and Ife used to be in one state. Yes, at a time, it was just Oyo State, comprising of the current Oyo state and the whole of Osun State. it was easily one of the largest states in the country. For administrative purposes and to promote grass-root participation, the state was divided into two.

Osun State was named after a river.

There is a large river in Osun called the Osun River. It was said that Osun used to be a wife of Sango but committed suicide by jumping into a stream. That Stream became river Osun There is background story after that fact. You can either read it about it here or wait for my one of my pieces where I’ll narrate the tale and all of the juicy bits about it.

Ibadan is the largest city in Nigeria

It is the largest city in size. Lagos is the biggest in terms of economy, luxurious lifestyle and political dominance. However, Ibadan still has its prides. It is home to the first university in the country, The University of Ibadan. I was at the University of Ibadan only last month for the West Africa Regional Conference organised by the African Student For Liberty.

Other great sites in Ibadan include:

  1. Cocoa house
  2. Agodi Gardens
  3. UI Zoological Gardens
  4. Irefin Palace

(I’ve never been to any of these places though and so I don’t have any experience to share. Hopefully, that will change soon).

Aright folks, it’s time I got moving. I’ll let you know how my journey went in day or two. If you have any question or want me to check out something for you in Ibadan, kindly let me know in the comment session below.
Don’t forget to upvote and resteem

This is Gracious Egedegbe @iamthegray signing out

Blessings

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Nice post my friend ,i've shared your post👍👍👍🙋😁

Thanks @muhdagayon

I'm grateful

Great post, Gray. When you get there, you should show them this post as an example of the right way to do things. Good luck on your mini-adventure.

Smiles

Thanks @moeknows

Guess what, I forgot my laptop charger. Right now, my laptop is just one huge burden.

I don't think showing them is a good idea. I might come off as proud and showy

Thanks for the luck

Maybe you can borrow some power from someone there. Good call on being too showy. I trust your judgement.

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/mMHW5e8

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post just got resteemed for free to 5000 followers.

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

Super awesome that you got to go this meetup! Even better you can combine it with meeting your aunt!

How did you learn about crypto?

I love the selfie you took!

Smikes

Thanks

I learnt about crypto through my current boss. He is also my colleague in school. He invited me for a meet-up and since then I've been so into it.

My aunt has been asking me to come over so I guess it was just killing two birds with one stone.

I'm glad you like the selfie

Cheers

This post has just been resteemed by @eddy-18.

For a free resteem, click here
For more resteems, send 0.01 to @eddy-18 with post link as memo

This is not a bot service. Upvote this comment to support the service