Day 2 of my Belgium trip! [Leuven, Liège, Coo]

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I am back with the second day of the trip. You can find day 1 here.

Max & I woke up not knowing where to go. We thought about going to Lille or to the more west coast of Belgium. After some arguing we came out with the idea to head to Coo! Coo what? Cow? No Coo. I never heard of it, it's a place in the Ardennen and William told us about it. He really liked it there so we were pretty excited about Coo. We left and went to the train station. As we arrived we instantly went to a ticket automat. We typed in Coo and there was a station luckily. It was only 6 euro. We didn't know which train to take so we asked at the travel agency that was located inside the station. We bought our tickets their and she gave us a paper with all the travel details on them. They were really unclear and not what we were used to in the Netherlands. We took the train headed to Liège. We came across several stations but we wanted to make a stop. Max told that he wanted to see the city of Leuven. I had to take a shit so that comes handy in. I took a shit at restaurant and I stole a roll of toilet paper unashamed, we needed it if we needed to take a dump in the woods. After some walking we got into the cool part of Leuven. Took some pictures. Here are some!

As we left to the station again we took the train further to Liège. We stepped out and the train headed to Luxembourg would leave in 16 minutes. We didn't know if there were any supermarkets in Coo so we decided to go to the supermarket. We decided to get two baguettes. One for dinner and one for breakfast. I bought some crappy meatballs and Max grabbed some chicken filet and cheese. We shared some tomatoes and a cucumber. It was 5-10 minute walk to the station so we missed our train to Coo. We had to wait for 2 hours so we had dinner and it was a great feeling to have some power again. I needed to take a pee and looked for the toilets. I came running into the toilets but I saw a woman sitting behind a desk with a sign with "toilets 50 cents". I had to run back for 50 cents so I got back and she told me I didn't need to pay. I got a little pissed so I left the 50 cents on her desk. When I came back to the little bench where we were sitting Max told me that he gave away the half of the cucumber that was left. I didn't care much so we just ate the cucumber. It was already 20:00 and the train arrived 20:14. We got to the platform where the train would arrive. We got in and we had to wait for another 45 minutes. At 21:00 we arrived in Coo and we went looking for a sleeping spot instantly. We walked in some rounds but it were just some residentals of people that live there. We came back to the station and decided to go to center of Coo. We heard the sound of a waterfall and after 5 minutes we found the cool tourist attraction which was a 15 meter high waterfall. This is how it looks!

We walked a little further after chilling at the waterfall. We saw a restaurant that was opened. We got in and we ordered some drinks. At that moment I realized that it was the French part of Belgium. I ordered a hot chocolate and on the cup it was saying Cécémel. I laughed. We asked the Wi-Fi code and Max took out his phone to look at the map. I checked social media and told my mom that I was still breathing. After a while we left and Max found a good sleeping spot on Google Maps. We went there and of course we missed the road exit. We had to walk back and got in. We walked over a bridge and then we found the meadow where we wanted to sleep. Max took out his flashlight and seemed a little around. We heard a little rustle coming out the bushes. It sounded like a big animal, my first thought was a cow. But why would a cow be in the bushes? We thought it might be a bear or something. So we quickly ran and Max took out his map again. A little further there was a river flowing and we heard it. Next to it was a meadow. We walked to the river and found ourselves a spot for the tent. There was a campfire accidentaly already. But we didn't use it. We set-up Max his tent and I brushed my teeth and went to bed. The next morning.. oh this is gonna be posted tommorow! Goodbye steemers!