You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - South American Saturday week #32 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #travel6 years ago

25 years ago, Medellín of Colombia was dubbed as "the most dangerous city on earth"("Narcos" anyone?). I visited this impressive eternal-spring city and its Comuna 13(in my photo), which used to be the most violent neighborhood in Medellín. This notorious area tucked away in rolling mountains managed to reinvent itself from the drug and gang wars. Now it's known for the colorful houses adorned with graffiti.

Med2.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing shot Donica. I can't believe you went there to get this amazing shot. That took some serious bravery.

Thanks Wes =). I went with another traveler I met earlier, and he was nervous walking around there, saying we could be shot any time. But I found the locals pretty friendly and busy in living, I didn't see any reason they would hurt us. Maybe I was too positive but luckily nothing bad happened.

What a great shot as well as info. Thank you so much for that.