You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Time I Kayaked With Hundreds of Alligators

in #travel6 years ago

Why the hell is there even a gator park!? Do they say how many casualties they've had? Jeez! Why would you and Nash even risk it!? I'm throwing out interrobangs, but if given the chance, I would most likely take it. I'm thinking whenever the gators are out of view, they're probably beneath the kayak waiting for an opportune moment to pounce. Man, that's deadly! What are their safety precautions to shield from an attack? I mean... I'm getting dizzy just thinking about it. What if the kayak toppled over? What if a gator decided to jump up the kayak when it's wedged in the muck? Are there tracking devices? COmmunication devices? Suddenly, Okefenokee doesn't seem that okee...

Sort:  

Hahaha, the guy who rented us the kayak did give us a map! I don't think a kayaker has ever been attacked (though no one can explain the empty kayaks that keep showing up in the swamp - jk,jk). Gators usually stick to easier prey, and we were also armed with those heavy paddles. I just wouldn't advise jumping into the water at night and thrashing around like a wounded animal.

D-Did... Did you and Nash wanted to set a record and be the first? LOL I kid. I always say that I'm not scared of anything I can hit, but gators and crocs are somewhat of a weak spot for me. Maybe because I saw this scary movie when I was a kid that involves them. Childhood trauma and all.

Really though, even if I could hit them, I don't know how much damage I could make.