WOW!! GARDEN OF THE GODS INCREDIBLE ANCIENT SACRED GROUNDS

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

sunrise in Garden of The Gods

This is one of my favorite spots in Colorado. The Garden of the Gods is located between Colorado Springs and Historical Manitou Springs off of Hwy 24. There is no fees to go through the park and its opened all year around. Peaceful Spiritual surroundings with an amazing abundance of wildlife. It feels like you stepped back in time to when the dinosaurs roamed the earth or Bedrock in the cartoon the "FlintStones". You'll  always find new things  to explore in the park like caves and crevices or unexplored paths and unusual rock formations in bright red orange and stark white colors. The huge white rock formations that per-trued from the earths crust have a luminous glow in the moonlight. It really is a special place to visit any time of the year day or night and well worth a trip. The old trading post is now a wonderful gift shop with all kinds of handmade native and local artisan treasures and they also serve food and refreshments and tasty treats.  Some of the many activities you can do in the park are bicycling, hiking, nature walks, bird watching, photography, moonlight star gazing walks, horseback riding, rock climbing, picnics, jeep & segway tours and educational tours you can schedule at the visitor center. Be sure to stop by the visitors center & nature center to see a great display of historical information and artifacts and exhibits other historical sites in the park. I hope you get to enjoy this magical place as much as I do and like my blog. 

Trading Post ( gift shop & food)


The Three Graces



Here is some historical background information links 

 http://gardenofgods.com/

http://www.ancient-origins.net/ancient-places-americas/garden-gods-sacred-ground-and-native-american-crossroads-006988




Sort:  

Nice Park lov the pic

Yes its just amazing and breathtaking. Beautiful place to visit. Have you ever visited Colorado?

I hope you guys can see all of the wonderful pics I put on the post. For some reason I can not see them after I posted the blog.

Id say they were lovely photos, but I cant see any, lol

Sorry. I deleted half the post and photos and I still don't see the rest. I see them under edit but their not posting. Not sure if maybe I had to many photos. Trying to repost but my image server is down. Technical difficulties. I apologized for the delay.

Im planning on moving out there soon. Can't wait to travel around and paint the scenery out there.

Its beautiful Gods country with lots of inspiration. Many go there and never go back they just fall in love. This blog my pictures wouldn't load. They were in the edit screen but not showing up on the post. I had to redo it. There's a second one with updated on the front that has about 30 pics and another arial video. I watched a outdated steemit video on youtube that said to upload the pics on another site and transfer the url. I was doing it the hard way lol and they didn't show up on the post. The second blog on "Garden on the Gods" is much better with more pics. I kept trying to edit the first deleted half of it trying to get the pics to show up. I thought I blew it up with pics or something lol. You will love Colorado and meet a bunch of great artists there to.

That's what I'm hoping, everyone keeps telling me that it's a beautiful state. I'm all kinds of excited about it. Still need to find myself a portable set up though.

I was staying on 40 acres in the center of Colorado in a valley surrounded by the continental divide and Pikes peak national park attached. It was about 9000 ft above sea level. I was staying in a two bedroom 5th wheel while I was trying to build. The summer is short at that elevation and the winter would get -40 degrees. I made it through the first winter but the second winter I moved to Florida after the water and septic froze. Lower elevations and towards the south are not as severe. I was in a community that everyone was off grid generating their own power. There was no mail man or anything. I miss it a lot but mother nature isn't a force to reckon with especially when I have a daughter. Make sure you take some good winter clothes and gear. Makes you feel alive again the challenge of living in remote places.

I know all about winter ;) when I was a kid I had to walk about a half mile through a snow drift taller than I was. Well it was more of leaping. As fun as it was I was frozen about half way home.