Cradle Mountain Summit Via The Overland Track

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6687.jpg

Heading out to the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park today and thought I'd share a few of my favorite photos when I did the summit in 2015. It was no easy feat. Lots of rock scrambles and lots of snow as well. Pass the Kitchen Hut there were only two other trekkers who continued on while the others had turned around. I pretty much hiked alongside them until they decided it was too tough and dangerous to keep going. I was determined to summit that day as my time in Tassie was limited and only had one chance (at least at that time). To my surprise, I somehow managed to convince one of them to go with me while the other wait for us. The snow got thicker and deeper. It was a bit scary as we had no idea how deep it went. But we carefully and slowly made it to the top. We snapped a few "we made it" photos and quickly made our way back down as it was nearly sunset and we still had a long way to go. Passed the rock scrambles, all three of us raced to the bottom with the lil day light we had left. It was an unforgettable hike and I can't wait to go back again. Hopefully with less snow this time. I won't go into too much details and just let the photos below do the talking.

P.S. my computer is dead and editing this on my phone, my wifi is also running out but I promise to include some photo descriptions as soon as I can. Until then, please enjoy the photos below :)

IMG_6387.jpg
A family checking out a wombat at the start of the Overland Track near Ronny Creek Car Park

IMG_6406.jpg
Overlandland Track

IMG_6430.jpg
A boatshed at the edge of Crater Lake

IMG_6431.jpg
A boatshed at the edge of Crater Lake

IMG_6440.jpg
Views from Marions Lookout - 1223m

IMG_6457.jpg
Admiring Crater Lake from Marions Lookout

IMG_6508.jpg
Signature jump shot at Marions Lookout

IMG_6522.jpg
Views all around

IMG_6546.jpg
Admiring the jagged face of Cradle Mountain

IMG_6568.jpg
Cradle Mountain Summit - clouds rolling in from the right side

IMG_6573.jpg
So much snow at the plateau on the way to Kitchen Hut

IMG_6577.jpg
Some parts of the boardwalk was totally covered in snow

IMG_6587a.jpg
Just another photo of the jagged face of Cradle Mountain

IMG_6591.jpg
Walking on snow without proper shoes/gears is no fun

IMG_6600.jpg
Made it to the infamous Kitchen Hut

IMG_6602.jpg
The infamous Kitchen Hut

IMG_6611.jpg
Clouds were rolling in and out so quickly you could have such poor visibility one second...

IMG_6612.jpg
...and then this the next

IMG_6617.jpg
Checking out the views

IMG_6620.jpg
Still a long way up

IMG_6621.jpg
Rock scrambling our way up following the snow poles

IMG_6622.jpg
More snow on the track

IMG_6625.jpg
Very steep ascent through rock scrambles

IMG_6630.jpg
The track we were just on issomewhere beneath the clouds

IMG_6661.jpg
Rock climbing and photo ops shenanigans, glad these guys were up for it.

IMG_6663.jpg
Rock climbing and photo ops shenanigans, glad these guys were up for it.

IMG_6667.jpg
Such an incredible sight to see the clouds roll in out

IMG_6674.jpg
More climbing up steep rocky scrambles

IMG_6684.jpg
Photos doesn't really do these rock formations justice

IMG_6705.jpg
Photos doesn't really do these rock formations justice

IMG_6709.jpg
Photos doesn't really do these rock formations justice

IMG_6723.jpg
Obligatory summit photo, see my shadow?

IMG_6724.jpg
Obligatory summit photo

IMG_6727.jpg
Summit views

IMG_6728.jpg
The trickiest section with very thick snow, don't know how I managed to snap a photo but i did

IMG_6729.jpg
The trickiest section with very thick snow, don't know how I managed to snap a photo but i did

IMG_6735.jpg
Spot the person next to the tall rock? Aidan's friend waiting for us while we hiked to the summit

IMG_6736.jpg
Here's a close up

IMG_6738.jpg
*A foggy descent

Sort:  

Amazing as always. I can't wait to tag along with you and your travels. Looks very good up there. Glad that you pushed through the summit.

Another marvelous post @jh3n you never fail to amuse me with those breathtaking and wonderful post of yours.

So beautiful yet so dangerous ate. Glad you make it. I picture out if I am exactly on that place. I will be on that last two photos. Waiting hehe. Good article as always ate. Thanks for taking us to your adventures. 🙂👍🏻 Can’t wait for your next post.

Im following you and also upvote your posts.plz do mine
https://steemit.com/poetry/@janjuah8/november-poem-beautiful-poetry

Beautiful photos, makes me want to got back to Tassie even more!

Thank you @jpphotography :) I loved Tassie and can't wait to return again. Hopefully sometime in Feb or Mar 2018 :)