Hawaii: Home Sweet Home

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7899.jpg

I love the reactions and questions I get when I tell people I am from Hawaii.

Most would have heard about it or know where it is but a good portion thinks it's an island country. Some are confused because I'm Asian and that I don't look anything like a Hawaiian. Some assumes I am what a Hawaiian looks like. Others think everyone still lives in a grass hut or wears hula skirts on a daily basis (I kid you not). And the lists goes on. But my favorites so far would be "Oh, so you're American?" with a confused look and "Do you surf?".

IMG_3373.jpg

I'm an adrenaline junkie and loves the outdoor but surfing isn't my cuppa tea. I enjoy watching the big swells on the north shore in the winter months coupled with a blazing sunset over the Pacific but I enjoy jumping off planes more.

IMG_0067a.jpg

Or swinging onto the edge of the world a few thousand feet above ground.

IMG_6520a.jpg

Or sitting on the edge of a cliff perched above some of the most majestic views on earth.

2.jpg

I love hiking and I love the mountains (in case you didn't pick that up by now, lol). And there is no shortage of that in Hawaii. After graduating from Uni, I spent a lot of time hiking in the Koolau and Waianae summits. I met a great bunch of like-minded people who later became great friends through hiking. We'd do a hike or two every weekend on the island of Oahu. We'd also go on backpacking trips to the other islands - Maui, Kauai, Molokai, and Lanai. I miss home. I miss Hawaii. I miss adventuring with my friends as well as my family.

DSC05683a.jpg

To most people, Hawaii is a dream holiday destination. I am glad I get to call it home. There is a popular Hawaii hashtag and it goes #luckywelivehawaii. Very lucky indeed. Although I have been living a nomadic life since 2013 and have called Philippines, New Zealand, and Australia home, Hawaii will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_6497a.jpg

steemitfamilyph.jpg
I am a part of @steemitfamilyph. Join us! Follow - Upvote - Resteem - Comment
Be a member on our Facebook page -- Click this Link

Sort:  

Been there 5 years ago and it was great and interesting!
Will be great if you can follow me as well, as I'll start writing about my travels soon.
Thanks

That's great to hear you've visited Hawaii. Which island/s did u go to?
Just followed and upvoted your first post. Great write up. Keep steeming :)

Thanks,
Been to 3 islands with the cruise ships, Honululu in the main island, Maui and another one I can't manage to remember it's name, there were black rocks and beautiful formations...
Wish I had more time to go around, next time:)

That's awesome. Could it be the Big Island?
Hawaii is small but u could easily spend a lot of time exploring each one of the islands :)

I will, when I'm going to hopefully visit alone without the cruise ship...

Awesome and beautiful photos as always. The photo with you on the swing is scary

Thanks @jon24jon24 :)
That swing was so cool! Too bad they've taken it down but for good reasons. Safety :)

Stunning photos! I think a lot of tourists have biases on how Hawaiians look. The whole grass skirt, eternally tanned and surfer attitude was perpetuated by Hollywood.

I have been there just once and the scenery is so beautiful.

Thank you @maverickinvictus :) #1 question I get asked is if i surf LOL. And when I say no some thinks I'm just joking.

It is indeed beautiful. I'd never get tired of its lush mountains and turquoise waters.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jh3n to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!