MT. NAUPA ESCAPADE | Day 1 Part 1

in #travel • 6 years ago

IMG_7271.JPG

Hello steemians! I am @joelisking, I hope you are doing good. And by the way, Happy Fathers' Day to all dads out there! 😊

Anyways, I am so back with my blog! It's been weeks since I last posted, but today, I have something to share to you. Our experience in climbing Mt. Naupa.

Mt. Naupa is located at Naga City, Cebu, Philippines. It is a one-hour ride from the South Bus Terminal.

IMG_6982.JPG

Why Mt. Naupa?

Mt. Naupa is good for those people who really loves adventure. It's a combination of risk and fun. Though Mt. Naupa is dubbed as one of the mountains for the beginners, but climbing up is no joke at all. There are a lot of dangerous trails you can encounter. But when you see the view from the top, you can really say that it is all worth it. The entrance fee is at 20 pesos only, you can stay all night in there. You can also put up tents.

Tip no. 1- Be extra careful upon climbing.

  • because like what I said, the trail is too steep.

IMG_6976.JPG

Tip. no. 2- Bring only the things you need. Pack light materials.

  • it's dangerous and exhausting when you carry so much load.

OUR EXPERIENCE

Me and my friends were really bored and since, they don't have work, and my class starts at August, so we decided to go on a trip- something different and unusual- not just beaching or go swimming, so we come up with the idea of trekking. We picked Mt. Naupa at Naga City, because as what we have read, it is for beginners. Some of my friends already had an experience climbing a mountain, but it was my first time. I was really excited.

We went there on Friday, June 15, 2018. We decided to have an overnight there. We bring the things that we needed just like:

Tent
Ready-to-cook foods
Portable stove for cooking
3 kilos of rice
Galloons of water
and other essential things

IMG_6942.JPG

We went straight to the South Bus Terminal, we rode a bus to Naga City. Our drop-off point is the South General Hospital in Naga. After half an hour, we arrived at the drop-off point and the we rode on a motorcycle ( or what we call, habal-habal) to Barangay Cogon, which is the starting point of our trek. After 20 mins. or less, we arrived at the starting point. At the starting point, there are a lot of kids who presented to be our guide upon climbing. So here we go.

IMG_6953.JPG

We were five all in all, including the guide. At first, it was fun, no sweat at all. But, after 15 minutes of walking, I can feel the pain on my legs and it is so hot because of the rays of the sun. But we keep on walking, after sometime, we pause and rest, and then walk again. I never thought it would be this hard, I never thought it is that dangerous. But it was really fun. It was really amazing, specially when we were on top, I can feel the cold breeze though it afternoon, and also the mesmerizing view from above.

IMG_6935.JPG

IMG_6983.JPG

When we arrived on top, finally, I literally screamed due to exhaustion and I was in awe of the view and I was really proud of myself to survive something like this one.

We immediately put up our tent and started cooking our lunch.

IMG_6986.JPG

IMG_0577.JPG

Tip no. 3 - Wear proper trekking attire.

PS: THIS IS JUST PART ONE, THERE ARE MORE GUYS, I WILL BE POSTING IT LATER. THANKS FOR READING!