You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #94 : The Queens Head at Yehliu's Geopark!

in #travel7 years ago

an interesting post, @sweetsssj - an entire park devoted to an illusion.

The scientific term is Pareidolia - a psychological phenomenon in which the mind responds to a stimulus, usually an image or a sound, by perceiving a familiar pattern where none exists .

Of course, the erosion of the rocks creating fantastical patterns is charming nonetheless.

On a more serious note, your trip to the park reminded me of the transitory nature of human life. Erosion is a force working through all of nature, including us.

I think the greatest example of erosion in terms of human life is E. J. Pratt's poem. Do you know it?

It took the sea a thousand years,
A thousand years to trace
The granite features of this cliff,
In crag and scarp and base.

It took the sea an hour one night,
An hour of storm to place
The sculpture of these granite seams
Upon a woman's face.

For me the geological park is not just a Disneyland of nature but a reminder of the fleeting and evanescent aspect of life.

Thank you for your amazing pictures of the site. It would be an interesting place to visit

Sort:  

What a fascinating poem, and on the surface it seems to fitting. A perfect descriptor almost, of the Queens head and how it came to be. I'm not a religious person, but I often look at these examples of nature and wonder how something so beautiful could just happen spontaneously and through random chance.

I'm not religious either but I believe. There's a difference between joining a club and knowing God :)

I was utterly fascinated myself, the poem being so incredibly insightful and interesting to read and talk about. And I just LOVE scientific terms! They are so super sciency! Just so super great and helpful on so many levels all of this.