Streets of Budapest: 50mm Urban Photography – Part I

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Having always been a photography newbie, I finally got my very first DSLR last summer while living in Budapest, Hungary. It was my brother's old Nikon D5000 and I bought a 35mm (50mm full-frame) f1.8 lens to go with it. 

And goddamn, it was fun.



At first I was quite shy about it and stuck to shooting the popular landmarks, but soon I realised something – getting a good photo of a random person on the street was like playing Pókemon Go. Only better.



I started roaming the streets almost every day, trying to look for any interesting subjects I could hone my skills with. I would catch moments of people's lives and create my own little stories within the frames. 

I was hooked. 



Lately I've been concentrating on other styles of photography, but I miss the rush of stealing a picture of someone right in front of them. Shooting before they realise and throwing a quick smile as a forced thank you.



I no longer shoot at 50mm or with the Nikon. My style has somewhat changed, but looking at these photos makes me feel like I need a new 50mm FF to compliment my Fuji (gear acquisition syndrome, anyone?) 

This was the first part in my Budapest series. If you liked any of the pictures, stay tuned for more.

Sort:  

Good story with excellent pictures, curated and followed.

Nice pics!

Thank you stranger!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

The guy in the skeleton mask is great!

Amazing pics! Thx for sharing! :)

Thanks :)

Hi josek! I am from Romania and i visited Budapest last year.
It is a very nice city! I will come again in 30th of July, for Formula 1 Grand Prix. Can't wait!

I agree, I absolutely love the city! I hope you're cheering for Kimi or Valtteri? ;)

I like Alonso and RIcciardo :)) Already got my tickets for that weekend. I've also been there last year for the first time and i really loved it.