WHY WE DO NOT ALWAYS HAVE TO FLY AROUND THE WORLD

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians, I want to share a few thoughts about traveling in our home countries!

IMG_5365.jpg

Hiking through the Alps with my brother

Traveling and exploring exotic places is one of my favorite activities. It awakes vitality, the interest in foreign cultures and people and last but not least it‘s like a self-discovery for me.
But sometimes I catch myself having thoughts like ‚the longer the distance, the more exciting and fascinating the destination must be‘. Yesterday I scrolled through old pictures of our family holidays I realized that this way of thinking is totally nonsense and bullshit.
Most of the years we spent our vacation in the bavarian and austrian Alps or had beach holidays on the german North Sea. In those days I could not always appreciate it because my 15-year old me wanted to go shopping in New York or relaxing in the Carribean. My parents are very down-to-earth and could not follow my annual criticism why our holidays are that ‚unspectacular and boring‘. Now, 5 - 10 years later, I want to say:
Stupid stupid stupid mini me!

Germany (in my case) is a beautiful country full of diversified landscapes and different city vibes and here‘s so much to discover!

IMG_0460.jpg

Eibsee, Bavaria

IMG_0136.jpg

IMG_0531.jpg

IMG_0618.jpg

IMG_0567.jpg

Starnberger See, Bavaria

No matter what our hometown and homecountry is – we all should start spotting our own surroundings and we will recognize how amazing our home countrys are.

IMG_5155.jpg

IMG_4859.JPG

IMG_5400.jpg

Nevertheless and of course distant places have a large attractiveness, but often it doesn‘t matter where we go – as long as we do it with the right persons and motivation. Therefore sometimes a weekend at the German coast has the same relaxation effect as 2 weeks all-inclusive holidays in Greece. Besides it treats our pockets with care and it doesn‘t take much time to reach our destinations.

IMG_2128.jpg

IMG_2038.jpg

Langeoog 'o9 045.jpg

Langeoog, North Sea

I think everyone should find his/her own North Sea and Alps and start enjoying our homes, no matter from where you are! :)

Have a great day!

IMG_8373.jpg

Rügen, Baltic Sea

All rights reserved // All pictures are taken by me // All texts are written by me