East coast freewrite!

in #travel18 days ago

What’s up, Hive? I’ve been saying for a while now that I was going to do a freewrite and this is it. It’ll be very condensed for the dramatic changes I’ve been going through. For tonight, I’ll just be focusing on the recent trip I’m currently on, from Minnesota to Pennsylvania. Originally, I’d planned to travel with @guthrie to see the eclipse in the path of totality with @roadscape and @lovejoy, but after news of my Opa falling and breaking his hip, my mom, @bonni, warned me that if we wanted to see him we should make plans to do so soon. With that, I adjusted and found that we’d also have an opportunity for a total eclipse in Ohio on our way to see my grandfather on the east coast.

The timing worked out and I made @guthrie’s school aware of the unfortunate situation with my grandfather. It was tricky to estimate when to leave Minnesota to be in the vicinity of the path of totality within a few hours. I didn’t want to be there too late, or too early. Also, with a Tesla, it’s difficult to negotiate stopping to charge and this would be my first time driving to the east coast by myself. The Model 3 is significantly smaller than the Model Y. Quite a few factors to consider but we got on the road around 10:30p.m. and thus began our journey to Pennsylvania in bro company.

@guthrie is almost thirteen now and his sense of humor is awesome. Completely in line with my own. He also has developed great taste in music with also made this trip enjoyable. He’s been dying for a road trip after we missed our opportunity to make it to D.C. in December for a protest because of a blizzard. We passed through Wisconsin and Chicago with relative ease. We stopped at the Ohio rest stop and I saw a woman wearing a keffiyeh […a Palestinian scarf that’s become emblematic of the resistance and seen at protests all over the world]. She immediately got excited and we become fast friends.

Her name was Anne. I gave her a few zines I’d done with Palestinian friends in Minneapolis. We took a selfie together and we our separate ways. I would later friend out that she went on to D.C. where she serendipitously met my friend Sabry, a community leader within the Palestinian community in Minneapolis. She was telling him about how she met a photography from the Twin Cities, and he said, “Wait! Do you have a picture of him?!”. Small world. @guthrie and I arrived in Toledo, Ohio and found a remote park where we watched the totality eclipse; a sight that I’ve been eager to witness since @tarotbyfergus told me about his experience in 2017.

Once we got to Pennsylvania, @guthrie pretty much feel into the relaxation of visiting his grandparents. Snacks, desserts and comforts. I’ve been visiting friends like @joshbalz. I’ve been spending time at a cute coffee shop in Wilkes-Barre called Abide, allocating some of my leisure for illustration and exploring new AI platforms like Haiper.ai and Udio. I’ve been getting sushi at my favorite spot here and coming back to Istanbul Grill for the best chai I’ve ever had. I decided tonight that we’ll be extending our trip by one more day so I’m looking forward to lunch with @bonni tomorrow and trying to savor our remaining time here.

Sort:  

Is there a place where we can read the zines online? 🍉🍉🍉

Such a lovely time out

It sounds like it has been a good trip so far. I think it's good that you changed those plans and ended up going. Falls are no joke as you get older. I'll just leave it at that. I hope you have safe travels back home.

Surprisingly, yes, @bozz. Especially considering I thought we were driving to the east coast for my Opa to die. He didn't and there were a lot of other silver linings. Just made it back to Minnesota. Thanks, brother.

That's great to hear! I am glad it worked out better than you had planned (for obvious reasons). Did you switch cars? I noticed you compared the model 3 to the Y and I couldn't remember which one you had, so it made me think you might have moved from one to the other.

Any trip planned to dirty Jerz any time soon??? If so let’s meet up!

Jersey was a little out of the way for me this trip, @blewitt, but next time I'm on the east coast, we have to coordinate.

Absolutely! If ya know you will be in the vicinity, lmk. I’d love to get together!