Any idea what fruit this is?

in #travel6 years ago

20180109_142118.jpg
This is a tropical fruit, I've always called it 'jambalac', other names its known as is Java apple, Semarang rose-apple and wax jambu. Its scientific name is Syzygium samarangense

20180108_153900.jpg

Its crunchy, and has a high water content. Its mildy sweet, and refreshing. I like to eat it with some salt... perfect!

I decided to talk about this fruit because the only place ive seen it grown is in my parents house. So i wanted to share with you about this fruit which i consider uncommon. This tree has been in my garden years before i was born... so an old tree basically.

20180108_153914.jpg

Just a curiosity, have you tried or seen it?

Sort:  

Follow me

if you ate it with a combination of salt and chill powder or fresh crushed chili than it will be "the bomb".

I used to grill it and it tastes so awesome!

Yes I have eaten this fruit, know by another name. It is called Jambu. Yes it is really nice and juicy. I liked to dip with sour plum salt. Mostly people eat with normal table salt.