You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progress Report: 29 countries - 45 flights - 2 months - 1 nineteen year old woman

in #travel7 years ago

I have enough stories about stuff that has happened to me while travelling to put you off ever leaving your country again...

That being said, I made it out the other side alive. I'm not saying you are guaranteed to do the same; but you have been to more countries than me so you obviously have your wits about you.

I've heard Papua New Guinea can be very dangerous, but I also heard Turkey was insanely dangerous and I felt incredibly safe while in Istanbul... For countries that are marked dangerous, do your research and if you are unsure trust your gut and stay in the tourist areas as much as possible. Also contact a guy called Graham Hughes. I've never met him, but he's a friend of a friend. He holds the Guinness world record for travelling to every country in the world without using a plane. If anyone can give you advice about the so called dodgy countries, it's him... https://www.facebook.com/thatgingerscouser

Sort:  

@lewisjfclarke I would love to hear those stories! You cannot always take what you hear about a country seriously until you have been there. Stereotypes are more often than not inaccurate. I've been doing tons of research and I am beginning to feel more confident while always gaining more awareness of what to look out for.
I'll look Graham up! thanks for the recommendation.

No worries. Have fun!