Wandering: My favorite German Castles (Personal Insights)

in #travel7 years ago

Before living in Germany, I had no idea the country had that much to offer when it comes to medieval architecture and sites. I am never going to be able to visit all the castles, churches, or the many other architectural wonders belonging to Germany's middle ages. However, I tried to see as many sites as possible during my stay in the Deutschland. Thus, here I have listed my favorite castles.

5. Burg Castle, Solingen

Although is not a very famous tourist destination, I had the opportunity to go to the Medieval Festival that happens there every year. The ambience definitely transports you to old times; moreover, the opportunities for pictures are endless.
For information on the medieval convention please click here.

4. Schloss (Palace) Drachenburg, Königswinter

This is not a medieval design but it is a place definitely worth seeing, specially during fall, to appreciate the stunning colors of the surrounding forest.

3. Heidelberg Castle

There is no much I can say about Heidelberg Castle other than it is a must see if you are visiting Germany. It is one of the castles with more history in the country. If you can, visit in summer where they set the castle on "fire" with amazing ligh effects and fireworks recalling the years in history when the castle was attacked and bursted into flames. For more information on the event, click here.

2. Imperial Castle of Nuremberg

I might be bias towards Nuremberg, because it is simply my favorite small town/city in Germany. There is so much to do and so much to see, not to mention one can enjoy really good quality beer just outside the castle!.

1. Neuschwanstein Castle, Schwangau

This is one of the most visited places in Europe. Consequently, it could not be left out in my small list. This is no less than a fairytale experience.

There are definitely others castles I could recommend, but the list would be too long. Please let me know what do you think about these castles. Should I add one in particular to the list? I hope you like my pictures and posts and if you have not been in Germany, I would suggest you to put it in your bucket list, because it is very much worth it.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Love your photos! I am from The USA but I am now living in Coronado Panama...Following

Oh! very nice. One thing I miss all the time is being able to go to the beach. Enjoy and following you back ;)

Thank you for sharing. I love your posts

Thank you, I appreciate a lot your kind comment

You had a really great time there. I like it. Up&resteem

Yes, I carry those memories very close to my heart. Thanks for your support

No, except Saarburg maybe, but I can highly recommend a beautiful castle in France, not far from the German border: Château de Malbrouk ->Link where you can visit an even book a knight meal which is very interesting to experience in a group.
An then we have beautiful castles in Luxembourg, most of them to be visited as well: ->Link
I wish you lots of fun visiting them.
Have a wonderful day!

Very nice! thank you for the recommendation and for the comment.

You are most welcome and thanks to you for sharing your castle-experiences with us! :)

Your post is very good. Thank you for sharing.

Im glad you like it. Thanks

Wonderful wonderful wonderful post! Loved the story with the pictures amazing! Thank you!

Thank you! :). Have a nice weekend!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you :) I appreciate it

Congrats on being featured on the OCD daily :)

Those are all really beautiful! Would love to see those in person someday. Thanks for sharing with us!

Thank you! I hope for you to see them, it changes you in someway

Beautiful post with awesome photos of those German castles. Looks like I have some more to visit!
Btw: Did you know that Neuschwanstein served the makers of Disneyland as example for the design of the Disney castle?
Have a wonderful day!

Hi, thanks a lot for your comment. Yes, I knew that ;). It is the main fact they use to promote tourism in the Castle. Have you been in any others that would you recommend in Germany?.