THE HANBOK CULTURE in SOUTH KOREA !

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Annyeonghaseyo  Steemit ! 

 As you may have guessed (or not) I just say hello to you in Korean .... Cool no? 

I am a big fan of South Korea, because this country and the people living there have always fascinated me.So you guessed that going to South Korea for my birthday, and with my two best friends with me, was for me a big dream come true.

You know that Beauty has a big place in Korean society but that does not make them superficial people. It's something that's part of their culture and I think it's interesting to learn about it.

I had the chance to visit Gyeongbokgung Palace and when I arrived the first thing I noticed was that the Korean girls and boys were all dressed in traditional clothes. We were told that the South Koreans liked to come in traditional clothes in palaces to take pictures. This custom is pretty well known there.

THE HANBOK  :

Their traditional dress is called Hanbok. Hanbok means literally "traditional clothing" in Korean. You must know that the Hanbok was considered to show your social status! More you were rich, more your Hanbok was filled with accessories and colors.Colors are very important for the Hanbok because it defines the beauty of the Hanbok.  The hair also plays a special role in the traditional dress. In general, girls go for hair in a ponytail or braid. If the girl is wearing a bun it means  that she is married.

As you can see in the photo above, the girls wear a kind of vest that covers the top of the body and the shoulders. This is called JEOGORI. It also consists of a collar called DONGJEONG. And the skirt is called CHIMA.

The boys wear a long jacket that covers the upper body, shoulders and also the pants. This coat is called DURUMAGI. Some boys also wear a hat called GAT.

I'm not an expert but I share what I learned when I went to South Korea. I hope you enjoyed this article and if you ever go to Seoul and visit some palaces, know that in general there are shops next door where the Hanbok are commendable just to take pictures in the palace. You can also do traditional hairdressing to match  with the Hanbok.

BYE Steemit and Thanks you !