Germany Part 5: A two hours Hike around the beautiful Lake Eibsee (Fotos + Video)

in #travel4 years ago

GPTempDownload 41.JPG

Finally I found the time to go out again during this crazy pandemic times, so I decided to do a little hike around my favorite lake right next to the Zugspitze, the tallest mountain of Germany!

And as it seems I did it just in time, because now holiday times started in Germany and everybody comes to Bavaria to spend their vacation here in the beautiful nature surrounded by mountains and lakes. Most of them go camping or do hikes and bike tours.

So at this particular day it was raining a lot, which was a good thing because likely you have almost no people there and are safe.

I started driving early in the morning from Gröbenzell to Garmisch Partenkirchen, where my family is from to avoid traffic and went a little bit further until I reached Lake Eibsee.

GPTempDownload 4.JPG

Bildschirmfoto 20200727 um 15.53.01.png

It is quite a long drive from my home but totally worth it because this place is just so beautiful and of course I could go visit my family right after.

When I arrived there was almost nobody there and it had just started to rain a little bit. The parking lot was still empty, so I packed my little bag, took the water bottle and a snack with me and started to walk along the lake.

GPTempDownload 8.JPG

GPTempDownload 36.JPG

This lake is located right next to Garmisch and the Alps. It has very beautiful, colorful water and usually provides a great mountain view. Of course that day, they were covered by rain clouds.

I also just love the forest around it with big rocks, trees and roots covered by moss. At some places you could think you are somewhere in Canada or at the film set of Lord of the Rings, only without dangerous animals around haha.

GPTempDownload 34.JPG

So I knew it would take me around 2 hours to walk around it. At first the path goes along the lake pretty easy to walk. After a while I arrived at the first curve looking at the first bay.

GPTempDownload 11.JPG

GPTempDownload 12.JPG

GPTempDownload 14.JPG

GPTempDownload 13.JPG

GPTempDownload 15.JPG

There was even a bridge to cross the water, which made it even more beautiful. Every bay the water seems to have a different color - it was just amazing to look at.

GPTempDownload 16.JPG

GPTempDownload 17.JPG

GPTempDownload 18.JPG

GPTempDownload 19.JPG

GPTempDownload 20.JPG

GPTempDownload 21.JPG

GPTempDownload 23.JPG

After that part, the path went towards the forest uphill. There were a lot of big trees, moss and rocks along the way and many curves right through the nature. Even with the rain it was just soul healing to walk right through it.

GPTempDownload 24.JPG

GPTempDownload 26.JPG

GPTempDownload 27.JPG

GPTempDownload 28.JPG

GPTempDownload 31.JPG

Soon i reached another bay with a tree laying in the water! How cool is that! One girl was shooting insta pictures right next to it haha.

GPTempDownload 33.JPG

GPTempDownload 35.JPG

GPTempDownload 37.JPG

GPTempDownload 38.JPG

GPTempDownload 39.JPG
GPTempDownload 40.JPG

GPTempDownload 41.JPG

GPTempDownload 42.JPG

From there the path went back into the forest, a bit steeper than before.

GPTempDownload 43.JPG

GPTempDownload 45.JPG

When I already thought I had taken the wrong way up to the mountain, I took another curve and saw the lake again.

GPTempDownload 44.JPG

GPTempDownload 46.JPG

It is 32,5m profound, 2450m long and 850m wide and counts 8 Islands: Maximilianisland, Schönbrühl, Braxeninsel, Sasseninsel, Steinbrühl, Alpenbrühl, Ludwigsinsland & Scheibenisland.

This is one of them.

GPTempDownload 47.JPG

Now I was on the mountain side of the lake and the rain became stronger. First I thought that this is bad, because I didn't bring my umbrella, but then I saw the first waterfall. Small one of course! But I am not sure it would have been there without the rain! I just loved it!

GPTempDownload 86.JPG

GPTempDownload 58.JPG

GPTempDownload 68.JPG

GPTempDownload 70.JPG

GPTempDownload 72.JPG

GPTempDownload 73.JPG

And the next 20 minutes many others were following! I just love being on the water, doesn't matter if it is the ocean, the lake or small waterfalls!

GPTempDownload 88.JPG

GPTempDownload 52.JPG

GPTempDownload 53.JPG

GPTempDownload 90.JPG

GPTempDownload 92.JPG

Simply so beautiful that I had to take a break at every one of them. And the water is so clear and fresh that you can drink it!! - Best quality!

Now the path was just easy to go and the view was impressive. Because of the rain I was completely wet by then but so happy!

Half way along the waterfalls the path started to go downhill again and the lake came closer.

Now I was only about 15 minutes away from my starting point! Just a little bit further and I was standing at the lake again.

A few curves further I was already passing the hotel and restaurant and of course the boat rental. - My battery died, so I couldn't take a picture for you, but I think you can imagine that it has a nice view.

In summer you can rent a boat for 10EUR /hour, go around in kayak or just lie down at the beach and take a swim.

The restaurant at the entrance of the lake has delicious but expensive food. Of course there are also other routes for hiking and biking, but this day I sadly didn't have more time and to be honest was also getting a little cold.

I hope I find time soon to show you around my country more, until then enjoy the video of the hike:

Cheers, Liz

Sort:  

Thank you, Liz.

Lol thanks for what? 😅

Only an excellent tour.

❤️❤️awww, its a pleasure @dandays👍

Another great hike and wonderful nature photos really looks refreshing 👍

It really was! Only a shame I didnt have the time to jump in this time 🤷

Ahhh...you will get more opportunities i am sure 😊

Haha I really hope so!

You do get around wonderful photos and another great adventure by the looks of it 😊

Aww, well I do my best to get out every once in a while! Here it is pretty crowded now, no not that easy!

Escaping the cities is the best but we are not always able to do that but once and while is great it gives you that peace of mind and some fresh clear air.

Have a great weekend @lizanmadsoul 😊

Yes exactly, here it is so crowded on warm days because everybody is on vacation.. I have to go when it is bad weather 😉

Yeah i know what you mean i hate been at a beach when it's over crowded or anywhere else for that matter.

I am really glad to be home again now.. the train was also like this! Not really a confortable feeling especially in times like this 😱

Love the photos, and thanks for sharing this journey

Thanks @improbableliason! Glad you like them! I always try to give my best👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful place! Your photos of nature are amazing!!

Thank you @a-quarius! I am very happy with my Go Pro 🙂 Glad you like the post! 🙏❤️

Nice post about our favorite lake. Good that the weather was like that. Otherwise the video would be full of people.

Probably! Like this it was much more peaceful! 😉👍

Congratulations @lizanomadsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 56000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 57000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators

Great job! Discover our new community Bikeworld. We would love to have you there, posting your bike related content and grow the biking community on Hive. Also cross posts are welcome. See you there.