Winter Holidays in the Kootenays

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_4004.JPG

Well, hello! Happy new year, and welcome to 2018! I wanted to make this post a special one and share one of my most favourite days. I spent my Christmas in my hometown, a small town in the West Kootenay area, and as much as I love Vancouver and being in the city, being at home and having a real winter for a little while made me the happiest girl in the world. There is something about not having snow on Christmas that feels wrong to me. You can have your holiday beach vacations, but I will take my endless snow and skiing, thank you very much.

Not only was this Christmas special because I was able to spend it at home, but also because it was my first Christmas spent with my boyfriend. He is from the city, so enjoying time in the Kootenays in something that we can both enjoy together. He may be a city kid, but I feel as though he has a small town heart. I was overly excited to be a part of his first snowmobile ride, his first time ice fishing and first time catching a fish (18 inches), first time snowshoeing, and his first time skiing in the Kootenays.

IMG_4007.JPG

IMG_4028.JPG

IMG_4033.JPG

IMG_4036.JPG

IMG_4005.JPG

IMG_4002.JPG

IMG_4003.JPG