Did You Know? special edition

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello there ladies and gentlemen from all around the Blockchain Nation!

I'm still waiting for my metal detector to arrive to Uruguay before I  post the experience here, as promised. So in between I just though in creating a Did You Know? segment [or issue, or what ever, you make the call and cast your vote].

In this segment my idea is to present any piece of new findings I came across and share it with you, because as grandma use to say "sharing is caring".

In this DYK [sounds funny, right? you dirty mind steemer] I want to show you a small but interesting token of information regarding Ilha Grande, a quite big island 30 min in boat from Angra dos Reis [Rio de Janeiro].

This island, besides being an UNESCO's biodiversity reservoir , it has some interestings remnants of Brazil's Colonial times, when Portugueses and Spanishs disputed the control over the region.

I visited this Island back in November with my wife and friends, and the historical settlement that caught my attention was the Lazareto ruin. What's a Lazareto? you may ask, this was originally a farmhouse, but during colonial times [around 1884] it was designated as a quarantine stopover for European immigrants and slaves from the Portuguese empire; all mainly affected by cholera. It is said that around 4000 souls passed through Lazareto in the 30 years it was functional, some sadly never left.

Then in 1940 it was transformed into a high security penal colony until it was finally closed down in 1954. Yea, nothing like doing a double combo between a quarantine island and a prison [No Escape movie style]. I won't say you don't feel chills crawling down your spine when you are inside, or that you don't have an urge to look over your shoulder constantly, because you fu@#4ing do!

This is a picture of one of the entrances to the ruins:

And this is the inside of one section:

So if you visit Brazil and care for a different touristic location, just let me know and I can give you tips that I learn in my visit to this Island.

Until the next post steemers battle companions!

Sort:  

Thanx for that I enjoy your writing style. To fix your pix first you need access to the original links wherever you have them. Then go into your page then into the blog and into this post. Next delete the

crap from one photo at a time. Try not going into the editor just paste it right into your post where you want it. Then repeat. it should fix the stupid space station problem. Happens alot when you use the editor with firefox. Here's one of my posts for your upvoting pleasure Blessed Be
https://steemit.com/steem/@kalaylah77/steemit-sport-or-spectacle-at-the-3-week-mark-of-my-relationship-with-it

Thank you @kalaylah77, i will try that with my future posts and certainly will read your post. Cheers!

just fixed the image issue with help from several steemers; this community is great!

Thank you @yandra86; i will try to improve the image link skills for future posts XD

Thank you, keep on hashing!

Well, The Andromeda Strain was a relatively good novel if you ask me, so, thank you