I was backpacking Andalusia for two weeks, check my itinerary and how to travel cheap!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Andalusia was under Islamic rule for nearly eight centuries. It was the most cultured and economically advanced region in Europe, leaving a legacy of beautiful palaces, mosques, gardens, bathhouses... Sadly, those days are gone and the current unemployment rate is almost 30%.

How much?

My monkey partner and I were alternating cheap airbnb apartments with private bedrooms at backpacker hostels. We were cooking some of the days but going to cheap tapas restaurants and drinking cañas (small beers) almost every night. Travelling by train, we were always making sure to stay in the city centre to avoid taking any taxis. These were the costs per person per day:

Itinerary

Seville and Malaga have big airports so it is easy to find a low-cost company flying there. All the Andalusian cities are connected by fast and comfortable trains so that's the best way to travel. If you want to save some money, buses are cheaper but will take a bit longer.

You can book trains on www.renfe.es (the website is terrible but it's the only way to get cheap tickets!).

On the next few days, I would like to post my pictures and tips about the cities I visited:

Seville

Cordoba

Granada

Ronda and Setenil

Follow the monkey!

Sort:  

I think your posts might get a lot more attention if you were able to prove that you are who you say you are. You could reference steemit in one of your posts over on http://capitanmacuto.com/ or using your facebook or twitter account link to one of your steemit posts. Maybe you have done this already? Thanks, cheers. : )

Thanks enki! I'm new to steemit and I was wondering why I'm getting so little votes... Maybe a picture of me with the steemit logo is the best option to verify?

Cool article! Awesome pictures!!

Love the back alley of the Cordoba picture! Beautiful place!