The best places I have been in 35 years (part 2): Rome: The Theater of Marcello

in #travel7 years ago

Hi everyone,

The sun is setting, all buildings are turning red and orange. Your leave the „Campidoglio” and walk towards the Teatro di Marcello which is truly the „little, oder brother” of the Colosseum.

SAM_2086.JPG
One ordinary sunset in Rome with the St. Peter´s Cathedral in the background, shot from behind St. Maria in Cosmedin

Präsy Rom-Karte.001.jpeg
*This is my "best-places-I-have-been-in-Rome-map". I will add each time our new sight seeing stops, so at the end you will see the entire tour on it!"

In fact, it was build much earlier that the amphitheater and served as a layout basis for its construction. Today extremely rich people can live inside. Maybe you might buy your Roman apartment there?

Differences between a theater and an amphitheater

There are 2 main differences:

  • the shape: a theater has a D form (have a look at the next picture), an amphitheater is oval (egg form)
  • the scope: in a theater there were spectacles as we know them still today; in an amphitheater they organized massacres which killed thousands of people.

Why do I like the Theater of Marcello so much?

It is because of the thousand stories it tells you and the feelings he gives. In fact, as anywhere you might go in Rome, different sunlights (sunset, dawn, night,..) will change completely the feeling you get passing by. An old theater might even become one of the most romantic places on earth ever!
:)

romainteractive com.jpg
Reconstructon of the original theater. You clearly see the "D"-shape. Foto rights: omainteractive com

sovraintendenzaroma it.jpg
Teathro di Marcello nowadays. You won´t believe how many tourists (and Romans) think, this is the Colosseum!

romainstaurata.jpg
Teatro di Marcello by night. There is no other place on earth which is that old and where people might by an apartment in! Apart from that, it is unbelievable romantic!!

The reason why there are apartments in the theater is, that in the middle age the popes had to be well protected. So they literally transformed the extremely robust buildings of the Romans into a sort of fortress / castle. Royals and pope families started to live there regularly after the danger was over... The result is a 2000+ years old theater with luxury apartments on its top!

20160617_130527.jpg
My girlfriend ( @denise.kluch - follow her for new insights for your future Thailand trip) and me in front of the Colosseum. As you might see, the Theater of Marcello was used as inspiration for the bigger amphitheater!

IMG_5986.JPG
Another picture of the Colosseum - probably the most knows shape today of the ancient Rome

We continue our tour turning right and entering the "Ghetto". Today it is a wonderful place to live in Rome, but you might still feel the sadness of the deportations of last century. In the Ghetto we will find the most beautiful fountain of Rome which is never mentioned in the tour books - so remember of it when you´ll plan your next trip to Rome! :)

But this will be the subject of my „The best places I have been in 35 years (part 3)”.

If you liked this post, make sure you subscribe and follow me - I will do the same.
And I am happy about every feedback I receive.

Take care,
Marco

Sort:  

Hello! Looking forward to more posts from you. Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

thanks, I appreciate that! I follow you as well ;)

I remember how insanely crowded Colosseum area was during my visit to Rome. And I haven't even known about this Marcelo theatre. Should've visited it as well :(

Well, Rome is decently worth some more days ;)
I have 1000+ places to write about (and that´s just about Rome...
Follow me :) that might be very useful for your next trip to the eternal city

Sounds promising, you've got yourself a new follower :)

That sunset is really gorgeous! I love it so much. And it's interesting, about the theaters in Rome. I'd love to go there!

thank you for your comment. sunsets are always wonderful, but soletimes the entire city (or location) is completely empty (because of the time or because it is during holidays) and then you feel like you are one thing with the place surrounding you!

Thanks for this beautiful post, this way I travel with your presentation and pictures to Rome. "All roads lead to Rome" ... one of the most beautiful town in the world (I agree with this).

Congratulations @marco.matthias! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!