Siblings: You're Only Enemy You Can't Live Without

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I woke up to the chat sounds of my messenger app.

Ti-ning! Ti-ning! Ti-ning!

It was my brother.

He was supposed to arrive at around 8 am coming from Bangkok. He took the sleeper train which is about 12 hours of land travel.

He works on a cruise ship and his contract is 5 months of work, and then 2 months of vacation. Then another 5 months, and 2 months off.

I haven’t seen him in 5 months!

For his vacation, he chose to go the Southeast Asia Route. Part of which is Laos, where I will be headed to do my visa run.

So we decided to meet there.

The chat messages keep on coming in. He is asking questions on how he can go to my hotel, what to ride and how long.

This would be the first time we are traveling together, only the two of us. We both know we have a different personality, and we aren’t quite sure if this will be a good idea.

He arrived about 30 minutes later and he gave me a hug, which is awkward for both of us. We aren’t the showy to each other, as well as to our whole family.

“Kumusta naka?” (How are you?) I asked.

“Oyni okay naman, jusko karanup kuna” (Here I am, fine. Oh my God, I am so hungry), he replied.

I offered him the menu, and I gave him a recommendation what to order: Stir fried noodles.

While waiting, we began to talk about his work in the cruise and his Bangkok tour the day before.

His eyes are all lit up as he tells stories of his travels. I rarely see that, because he doesn’t usually share his days and whereabouts.

I remember when we were young, we always fight. Hitting each other with a broom, and then running into our mom to tell her who strikes first, asking for her sympathy.

We are 4 siblings, two boys, and two girls. Imagine a house with all of us, age close to each other.

Every day is like a cockfight!

I tell you, it’s a disaster!

Looking back, I was so happy that we are many. My childhood has been awesome because I have them. We get to be our own playmates and we always got each other’s back.

And now we are here, doing adult stuff. Away from the stress of life, we will travel and experience the beauty of the World together.

His order arrives, and he immediately dives into it. The way he eats, it looks like he didn’t eat for a week. He takes bite after bite, and he forgot everything else.

There’s a lot of things going on my mind as I look at him. One thing is for sure, we are about to get closer because of this trip!


Images taken using Xiaomi Redmi 4x. Gif from giphy.com


PREVIOUS POSTS

“Don't Talk to Strangers” is such a bad idea

You Will Have Bad Days, That is Certain

That one time I paid 200,000 for a 20 minute Tuk-tuk Ride

12 hour Night Bus going from Thailand to Laos: My Travel Mishaps #2

Is traveling all about fun and adventures? Definitely not! My Travel Mishaps #1

6 Kinds of Thai Massage Services You Might Not Know

100 Followers and Reputation 48 in 11 days

Why did I decide to Settle in Chiang Mai Thailand

Job that pays good money? Or passion that is not making a penny?

All those doubts and fear, IT’S JUST ALL IN YOUR MIND

Go Out and See the Sun

YOU are Someone's Inspiration

6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You Want To Reconsider Your Job

Sort:  

A very detailed high quality post. Keep posting high quality material. It will attract many of us to follow you and upvote your content.

Thank you so much! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marypineda from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @marypineda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, Steemit family" Nice to meet you,
Great Post <> good luck <>..!!!