Capilano Suspension Bridge Park - Vancouver, B.C. (Part 3)

in #travel6 years ago

So as you first walk into the park on the left, they have educational information about the white settlers who took over the land and started making all kinds of structures, including bridges. It shows you the history with photos and little artifacts so you can learn all about how we got to suspensions bridges, like the one we were there to see. I believe had this been in the states, that would have been it on the history, but my thoughts are because we were in Canada, they had an awesome display showcasing the natives who were there before the settles and showed the technology, art, and history of the people native to that region.

Since we have been in Canada, I have seen on signs and heard on the radio many attempts for the government to respect and honor the First Nations in a way we don't see too often back in the states. Now of course the Canadian government has committed terrible atrocities to these people, like almost all governments have to native populations across the world, but I do see more of an effort to include and honor them. Now this could all just be because National Indigenous Peoples Day celebrated here in Canada was going on just two days ago, and it could have well been all just in a lead up to that day and the festivities and then nothing for the rest of the year. So if you are Canadian and have any insight on this info, let me know how the First Nation's are generally treated by the state.

But back to the display, I really enjoyed the exhibits and especially the amazing totem poles they had and the awesome canoe they had. I really have a thing for Native Art, I just love the tribalism and the animals infusion in their creative process. I think it is great that they now only show what the white man had done, but to see what was happening before our Western civilization rolled in. Giving children some of the "full" story is great, though I know that none of us know the real truths, but a small hint towards is still nice. I think this is a great experience for children to learn about history and the nature around them, as they had other cool sections that explained erosion (see the second to last photo), lightening, salmon breeding and migration, and so much more. it really has a lot of information for the children and adults to learn! We really like the erosion part that hands on shows you the effect and the amount of years it takes.

So again, we were not too thrilled about this place overall compared to most of our other adventures, but I would for sure go if you have children and are looking for something to both let them play and learn.

1IMG_7658.jpg

1IMG_7657.jpg

1IMG_7654.jpg

1IMG_7656.jpg

1IMG_7655.jpg

1IMG_7651.jpg

1IMG_7732.jpg

Part 1: https://steemit.com/travel/@mickeybeaves/capilano-suspension-bridge-park-vancouver-b-c-part-1

Part 2: https://steemit.com/travel/@mickeybeaves/capilano-suspension-bridge-park-vancouver-b-c-part-2

Shot with a Canon 6-D DSLR with a TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II Tilt-Shift Lens.

stee.jpg

Please give me a follow here on Steemit, check out my travel website and join my doTERRA essential oils team!

Sort:  

I really appreciate you sharing these photos because it was a couple of decades when I visited. It is so interesting how a photo can juggle your memories! I absolutely love visiting Canada and there is a reason why British Columbia is called “Beautiful.”

Wow, very stunning photographs. I woukd love to visit such place if im chanced. I love the art work too! Nice carvings!

I like the pictures and the article is very educational..

these are a amazing photos, i like this place,

Quite awesome pixes you have there!

I love the Capilano Suspension Bridge Park in Vancouver. It was one of the coolest places I visited but the bridge was pretty scary.

Loved your pictures @mickeybeaves.