Underrated Places to Visit: Five places to go in the Midwest!

in #travel7 years ago

Everyone loves to visit the coast, after all who doesn't love a good beach day! However there is a whole country of flat, flaaaat land in between. I firmly believe there is just as much to see in the middle of America. I've noticed lots of steemians love travel so I thought I'd open a few eyes to the beauty that is the farmlands of the united states. I went ahead and put together a list of the top five places I'd personally love to visit in the Midwest, starting with a hidden jewel of my home state! I'd love to hear some other ideas of great flat state attractions!

PELLA, IOWA

This is my personal favorite attraction, and I'm certainly biased since I live an hour away and am deeply delighted by dutch letters. I actually visited Pella a few weeks ago so I can give you a fresh account of this quaint town! Pella, IA is a small dutch town. They have a cute downtown area with plenty of boutique shops, and a number of bakeries. The most popular of which is the Jaarsma Bakery which boasts the flakiest pastries this side of the Mississippi, and they aren't remotely exaggerating! If you are ever near central Iowa you absolutely have to stop by!
Pella also hosts it annual tulip festival every May, which includes a bright and merry parade. The entire town is covered in those bright flowers, and it feels like you can't walk a foot without smelling pastries and freshly watered tulips. It is an absolute delight. The windmill in town watches over the whole proceeding and you can catch some wonderful photos if you're interested in street photography!

Kansas City, Missouri

If you're wanting more of a big city vibe I'd whole-heartedly recommend Kansas City. Its everything a big city like Minneapolis or Chicago has to offer, with a lot less traffic and a lot more heart! I love the attractions around the city, but as an art and culture lover my all time favorite thing is the Crossroads Art District! The streets are littered with galleries and small restaurants. As long you're in the artsy area you can also take a look at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, which hosts a plethora of shows and musicals. You can rest assured that no matter the time of year you'll have a show to look forward to!
I'm hoping to take a trip here soon, I have yet to see the zoo in town, and I've never been to worlds of fun. Theres so much to see in the city that you can't go wrong with a trip here!

Duluth, Minnesota

Duluth is the place to be if you love scenic beaches, and cool winds. Its a bit chilly, as most of Minnesota is, but its beautiful. The city itself has dozens of small shops, largely centered on art, biking, and outdoor activities. Duluth is wonderful for the hikers, bikers, and nature loves among us. Skiing is a town favorite, as especially in the winter months the snow lightly lines the streets and makes for a picturesque skiing trip. With hot cocoa vendors easily accessible! The summer provides even more fun, the lakes around town have plenty of water activities. Theres is a ton to explore, and plenty of people to help you do it. Nothing like Minnesota nice, am I right? There are tons of tour groups, and adventure seekers that lead you around town and let you experience all ranges of excitement!

Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Sticking with the outdoorsy theme, theres nothing quite as enticing as a waterfall! Sioux falls has a wonderful cascade of water that falls for 100 feet. There is an elevator to bring you to the top of the falls, and one you are there you could honestly spend an entire day. There are cafes, walking trails, and plenty of sun! If you get tired of the natural beauty you can also peruse the town and explore the famous sculpture walk! A tour around town that has new sculptures every year, that sounds like an excuse to visit again to me! After that you can get back in touch with nature in a more controlled setting at the local zoo and check out over 20 endangered species!

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin

You didn't think I'd forget the coolest water park in the world did you?! Wisconsin Dells is probably the most popular attraction in the Midwest, so I figured I ought to list it! I love water parks as much as the next person, and I am dying to visit the Dells! I've never been, but here is a list of everything to do when you're there! The first thing I'd recommend is the zip line! Free fall is the best way to get into the mood of excitement! Then hit some go karts, and the adventure park to get nice and warm! Then cool off at the water park for hours of fun, or relaxation.

Thanks!

Thanks for reading everyone, I love that I can bring a little more love to the little places! Let me know if any of you have any fun memories or photos of these places! Or if you think theres somewhere else in the midwest that needs a little love!

Sort:  

Congratulations @midwestblues! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!