Day One Saturday: Setting Off, The Missed Junction Every 100 Miles, The Meal and The Drinks!

in #travel7 years ago

Good Morning Steemers,

I hope you've all had a great week!

I am back home from my week off and ventures around the country. I kept my eye on the price of STEEM while away but unfortunately didn't have much time to browse or make any post so I have some coming up taking you through where I've been!

For today I bring you

Day One Saturday: Setting Off, The Missed Junction Every 100 Miles, The Meal and The Drinks!

A week ago yesterday I finished work and got home to a couple of boxes delivered for my birthday. With my mum and sister about I decided to get them open as neither they or I would be actually about on my birthday. After opening my self bought presents I made my way to my room and had a load of fun setting everything up, I got a bunch of tech stuff :D

That did mean I successfully pack at total of nothing, so early Saturday I got up with everything still to pack before I would be ready. I aimed to set off around 10am, I wouldn't be able to check in at the hotel until 4pm and it would be a 5/6 hour drive of about 300 miles.

I was doing surprisingly well until at about 9:30am another delivery turned up, my brother had ordered me a new computer case because my old case had got a little broke over the years that I've had it. Well more computer stuff turned up so I couldn't help myself, I unpacked it sent some pictures to my brother and checked that all the mount points where correct before realizing it was then 10am! No pictures on my computer sorry.

With the last leg of packign to be done I ran about the house aiming to get back some of the time I'd spent messing about with my new stuff haha!

Anyway between 10:30am and 11am I had got everything into my car and was ready to set off on the longest adventure I'd done on my own by car!

Here She Is!

IMG_20170722_110321.jpg

The week before I had treated her to a quick look over by the garage and a top up on her liquids. I didn't want her to drive a full thousand miles and not be looked after before hand!

So she was sorted and I was packed and had everything I would need, so it was bye to my sister and off I went!

Driving Part One: 300 miles To Bournemouth

Honestly this isn't to big of a distance to drive, and there is an extra 20 miles added to the real distance, not to obscure anythings, I missed 3 junction on the motorway :p

How does that happen in an age where navigation couldn't be simpler using a sat nav. I wasn't using a sat nav! I like them but there have been times I have add no signal and the usefulness of the device becomes Zero, so because of that I've been training myself to be able to travel using maps and street signs. Its honestly been going really well I just had a bad start to the journey!

I wish I had taken more picture but its not something that is easily done being the driver and the only person in the car. I also wished I'd taken pictures of the 3 service stations I stopped at after missing junctions, but I didn't do that either. I was more involved with getting back onto the right motor way so sorry!

I'll be honest the drive to Bournemouth was great! A smooth drive with barely any traffic hold ups which is always a blessing. I even enjoyed getting lost a few times as it give me a mission to do - mission titled: find the right motorway 1/2/3!

Arriving at the Hotel: Travellers Retreat!

It wasn't a real hotel like you would think, the place was found on bookings.com and was a converted house, honestly though it was a really great place to stay for 2 nights!

IMG_20170722_185737.jpg

link: https://www.booking.com/hotel/gb/travellers-retreat.en-gb.html?aid=311076;label=travellers-retreat-CpQctkpXCZQPFBjEZGZqgAS162163211464%3Apl%3Ata%3Ap1%3Ap2%3Aac%3Aap1t1%3Aneg%3Afi%3Atiaud-285284111646%3Akwd-3769106688%3Alp9046663%3Ali%3Adec%3Adm;sid=03d3ab2e8b5bedd4d3978ae14de6db6b;dest_id=-2590498;dest_type=city;dist=0;hpos=1;room1=A%2CA;sb_price_type=total;srfid=9d3f6ee5bceefd3b83da857d439c51a39efaf91cX1;srpvid=c7cf5192d2cd0145;type=total;ucfs=1&#hotelTmpl

The owner was a really nice person and just 3 miles out side the town center with a decent price! I was skeptical about booking this place but I am really glad that I did and would recommend it is a place to stay if you are in the town!

Meeting my old flat mate and going out for drinks!

about an hour after arriving I got in a taxi to meet up with my old flat mate and her sister. We planned on finding somewhere to eat and then to go out in town for my birthday (drinking until early sunday morning). Again I wish I had taken more photos for you, I'm not that big on taking pictures ever 30 mins so sorry, I do take more pictures later in the trip promise!

Me and my old flat mate are big fans of metal/rock music and what I didn't know is bournmouth has two awesome metal places to go and get merrily drunk! I aimed to get a bit too far gone but that soon changed with the sister getting immediately drunk after two cocktails. Now fair enough she had a bumpy life lately and I didn't mind drinking slow. I was absolutely shattered after the drive n didn't think i would see 4am.

The story from there is pretty standard, we started in one place, moved onto a second place a few drinks in, had a bunch of drinks in the second place before moving onto the third and then ended the night there with another few beers. If you don't know what I mean by pretty standard I'm sure you will one day! All the other standard mayhem happened as we where out until 4am sunday morning. As I recall we where getting a subway at that time, who knew a subway would be open until that time!

The taxi took me back to the hotel/home I was staying and I ninjad my way to my room to then pass out!

That was day one of my adventure, a big drive to bournemouth, a nice meal and a night drinking!

Day Two Coming Soon...

Until next time
Stay well

STEEMit-Verify-Bardge-nathwright876[1535].png

Sort:  

Cool ride you've got. Happy traveling mate :)

Thanks man :)

love your car buddy :D give me a ride of it please :D

Haha sorry bud no can do.

I love her so much, she mine to drive!

Congratulations @nathwright876! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sounds like a fun trip! Also, I'm the only ninja in this town, Sir (mate?).

Yay! Happy Bird'day (^-^)/
Your land lord must be a great samurai.

So far in it was going really well and although it was a long drive the night was great, I'm now a year older :D

I tried to ninja to my room but the land lord woke up at about the same time, so I'm not a great ninja :p

Congratulations @nathwright876! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nathwright876! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!