In 2012 I Went On A Trip To Cancún In Mexico - This Is The Video I Made About It

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on Steemit. If you like travel, EDM and time lapses, this is for you.

When studying abroad in the United States for 2 semesters (UMASS Dartmouth, you know, the school where one of the Boston marathon bombers went to), I went to Cancún in Mexico for a few days with a bunch of exchange student friends (I'm German and there were 9 of us at the school at the time).

I'd just bought a GoPro Hero 2, because me and my friend really wanted to shoot some awesome time lapses like we'd seen in so many GoPro videos by now, so the camera was basically glued to my hand, head, the balcony of our current hotel or the dashboard of our rental car the entire time.

We spent some time in Cancún, took a trip to Chichén Itzá (one of the New Seven Wonders of the World, a Maya site in the center of Yucatán), went to Tulum and ended with a few days in Playa del Carmen.

I recorded, time-lapsed and photographed my way to a ton of footage - only to do nothing with it for a couple months after coming back. Oh, the joys of being a fool with a camera.

In February of 2013 I stumbled across a competition. Biggest Baddest Bucket List. You had to make a travel video, explaining and showing your favorite location. We'd taken plenty of little trips throughout our time in Massachusetts, but Mexico remained by far my favorite. Snow storm Nemo was wreaking havoc outside our dorm (I believe the day was February 7th/8th), so I ventured out to the lake in the forest by our student housing facilities, recorded a little intro (and got snow attacked right to the face) and spent the rest of the storm in my "cave" (actually, my roommates literally built an igloo right in front of our house) and edited this baby.

I did well in the contest too (it was based on upvotes), but didn't win, sadly - the prize was an all-expenses paid trip around the world, where all you'd have to do was VLOG along the way - pretty neat.

Oh yeah, 2012 is the year I discovered EDM, that's why the song. Plus I tried to sync the clips to the music, at least a little.

Enjoy, would love to know what you fellow steemers think :)

Sort:  

RIP ears. Looking good though! ᕕ( ՞ ᗜ ՞ )ᕗ

Haha, feel free to mute and play your own music. Although, I tried to sync it somewhat with the clips.

Congratulations @ngoeke! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!