Road Trip from Adelaide to Melbourne: Vegan Adventures.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

20180414_190238.jpg

Unless you're flying from Sydney to Perth, keep your seat in the upright position, jerks.

My apologies for not having published more about our van-life adventure from Australia's snootiest town (they were never a convict settlement), Adelaide, to Australia's most exciting and vegan friendly city, Melbourne sooner.

I'm sure you've noticed I've been wrapped up publicising and critiquing the comments of anti-animal rights enthusiasts that seem to enjoy reciting over-played and frankly IQ-lowering arguments as to why they don't want to be vegan. I came to the realisation that one can only engage in combatting the incessant trolling for so long before requiring a requisite recharge.

I'm writing this as we fly over outback NSW.

Of course, this won't be published until I have an internet connection, but as we fly it's certainly hard not to ponder what we will see, who we will meet and what the camper experience will be like!

Our Britz camper is a glorified Toyota Hi-Ace with a bed and some cookware.

I immensely enjoyed camping out at Wombeyan Caves with Hayley a few weeks back. While we were driving home, we contemplated camping in the future without requiring grounds outfitted with hot showers. Well, without even realising it, we have put ourselves in exactly this position.

The camper doesn't have a shower. D'oh!

Big deal, right?

Well, that's my outlook! I know I've got to be positive and there is nothing a box of baby wipes and enough roll-on deodorant can't handle. That's assuming we don't stop at some quaint little ocean-side camp ground supplying the 'good stuff'.

The whole trip is about 10 days or so with a bit of time either side of the road trip at the two capital cities.

This is the first time I'm attempting to publish anything while we are away, as the functionality of my dual-screen desktop PC has me treating every other device as insufficient. The truth is, maybe it's just as important to publish regularly than it is to have ease of use and a more reliable internet connection. This is the reason I'm blogging in my aeroplane seat on my Galaxy S8.

I love disobeying the rules.

Every time I get on a plane, I deliberately keep my phone enabled. I always want to be at the controls of the aeroplane, but not having the required qualifications and the wrong necessary seating allocation prevents it.

Thank you, speedometer app.

The next best option is to fire up the SPEEDO app and watch the numbers shoot up to over two hundred and fifty kilometres an hour before our Airbus A320 lifts off. I've never heard an announcement scolding a passenger for using their phone during take off. I'm yet to be convinced that my phone could or is messing with the aircraft avionics.

With my confession and immaturity admitted, I've got to mention one last thing.

I told Hayley I brought along a roll of toilet paper from home. I showed her how it was nestled away in my backpack. She laughed and mocked me (and so did her mother!) thinking if my bag gets searched, airport security are going to think I'm a mental patient.

Well, my water bottle leaked during the flight and guess who had sufficient absorptive material to clean up? Darn tootin', I did!

Surely you want to know what real reason I had to bring a single roll of toilet paper. Well, I don't know of too many places that sell single rolls and I didn't want 24 rolls of toilet paper as back up if we needed to make an emergency toilet break while on the road.

Priorities, I say.

20180414_155343.jpg

Ninety cent surcharge for soy milk in a small coffee at Sydney airport. At these prices, I think being sodomized by an overeager supermax inmate would have been less painful to bear.

We'll be talking soon. Upvote, follow and leave a comment.

All the best,

Nick.

All content is original.

This post was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

Looking forward to this. There is some great veggie food in Adelaide!

Well.. if you're going to cough up some recommendations, I will gladly accept!

We had a bit of indian tonight.. ordered in as we were both pooped.

Loving our little Airbnb. It is so cozy and the bed is super comfortable.

Thanks for the support!
Nick

It's been a long time since I was there but I used to LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place. I was vegetarian then (and this was before vegan even was a big thing) but I see you can get vegan cheese now (at a cost).

http://www.goodlifepizza.com/

Book though if you want to go. You can't just turn up to Goodlife. It's always busy even on random week nights!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nickmorphew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=road-trip-from-adelaide-to-melbourne-vegan-adventures


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for sharing your post. Travelling is always great way to get inspired. It sounds you had a great time during your journey.

It has only just begun! Stay tuned for tonight's post!!!!

Cheerio!
Nick