Mount Kinabalu, Sabah Borneo

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

cc1.jpg
Sharing my experience which I encounter during my climb with you guys. There's a lot of do and don't, which is useful for those who wishes to climb Mount Kinabalu. It's tough, but I made it to Low's Peak. I'm a true sabahan now ;)

Here's my Mesilau Trail(which has been closed) itinerary for 2 days

Day 1
0700 - Drive to Kinabalu Park
0945 - Briefings
1000 - Climb up to Laban Rata
1830 - Reach Laban Rata, Dinner
1930 - Rest Early for the Next Day

Day 2
0130 - Breakfast
0230 - Briefings and up you go to Low's Peak
0530 - Awaiting Sunrise
0700 - Down to Laban Rata
1000 - Brunch and Prepare to go Down
1045 - Down to Timpohon Gate
1520 - Tea Break
1700 - Certificate Collection
1730 - Back to Kota Kinabalu

Mesilau Trail is approximately 2KM or more longer trail than Timpohon Trail. We've choosen a longer trail as, there's much more to see and the view is spectacular. Before we begin our climb, the Mountain decided to appear before us for a lovely photo
MK1.jpg
MK2.jpg
Our Mountain Guide giving out briefings on what, yes and not to do during our climb.

Advice : Be at the meet up point earlier for briefings and start early so you'll reach Laban Rata earlier to rest for the next day

These are part of the trail which you have to expect on the first day of climbing. It ain't easy guys, so make sure you train yourself 6 months before the climb. Preferably loose some weight, it be easier.

Tips: Wear shorts and a thin layer top as it gets warmer and sweaty as and when you climb.

MK3.jpg
MK4.jpg
MK5.jpg
MK6.jpg
MK7.jpg
MK8.jpg
MK9.jpg
MK10.jpg
MK11.jpg
MK12.jpg
The joy of knowing there's only 1KM left to Laban Rata. When we reach Laban Rata, we had our dinner and ready for bed.

To know: Buffet dinner starts at 1630 and ends at 1900, that is why it is advisable to start early. Else, if you're in a group, and they went ahead than you, ask them to pack some food for you just before the kitchen close. They are more than happy to help.

MK14.jpg
Where we stay for the night

MK15.jpg
MK16.jpg
Ready and all geared up for the climb, it was dangerous to capture any photo while climbing up so, here's some photo at the summit. Its worth it! View is breathtaking and mesmerizing.
MK17.jpg
Donkey's Ears
MK18.jpg
Reach at the summit before 0600 else you'll miss the sunrise
MK19.jpg
MK20.jpg
MK21.jpg
MK22.jpg
MK23.jpg
MK24.jpg
A giant's face
MK25.jpg
That's how tough it is. But, i made it!
MK26.jpg
A picture to proof that I made it to the summit, else its all just a fairy tale.

After all those magnificent picture taking, we head down to Laban Rata for brunch. You can spend as much time as you want at the peak but food will not be serve after 1030 at Laban Rata, be sure u reach there on time. After food, get that lazy ass of yours down to Timpohon gate. Tea break and certificate collection awaits you

MK28.jpg
MK27.jpg
It was a little chilly and its just nice for this kinda activities.
MK29.jpg
Look what I saw on my way down, a porter carrying furniture up, and here I am having a hard time bringing myself up and down. LOL! My respect for them, without them I wouldn't be able to sleep on those bunk bed comfortably and eat on those dining table they provided us.

To know: Tea break ends at 1630

MK30.jpg
Received my certificate awarded by our Mountain Guide.

To know: If your reach the summit then you'll receive a coloured cert else, you'll get a black and white cert.

Here are some photos of plants I've took during my climb on the first day via Mesilau Trail. I don't really know plants that much, if you do feel free to comment below. After all, knowledge is power.
p1.jpg
My first pitcher plant that I've encounter during my climb
p3.jpg
p2.jpg
p4.jpg
Looks like a bow isn't it
P5.jpg
p6.jpg
p7.jpg
p8.jpg
p9.jpg
p10.jpg
p11.jpg
p14.jpg
p13.jpg
p12.jpg
p15.jpg
p16.jpg
p17.jpg
p18.jpg
p19.jpg
p20.jpg
p21.jpg
Pitcher plant is huge at this area
p23.jpg
p22.jpg
p24.jpg
p25.jpg
p26.jpg

Captured during the climb before Laban Rata
cc10.jpg
cc11.jpg
cc12.jpg
cc13.jpg
cc14.jpg
cc15.jpg

More view from the summit
cc2.jpg
cc3.jpg
cc4.jpg
cc5.jpg
cc7.jpg
cc8.jpg
cc9.jpg
I hope you'll enjoy my post as much as I do to share my whole experience with you.Cheers!

Details :
Book 6 months in advance
Mountain Guide Azmi
Mobile : +6010 955 5694

What you need :
Fleece, Wind breaker, glove, lotsa lotsa chocolate, 700ml mineral water(refill them at every stop), flask, umbrella, a good hiking shoes, thick socks, muscle spray, panadol actifast(well cuz this works well for me) and the rest just forget bout it, leave them behind, you wont need them anyway.

Sort:  

Magnificent Views! Whats the best time of the year to attempt to climb Mt Kinabalu? Thanks.

Best time is definitely February till April, other than that it all depends on your luck as Monsoon season starts on the month of May till end of the year.

that is a cool place ! keep In touch ! I also talk about mountains in my blog

wow cool :) have you climb Mount Kinabalu yet?

not yet! hope to do it soon !!

Yes you should, I might climb next year 😁.

Congratulations @nickytravels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, Taica here. I am doing the selection of the most underrated posts and share it with my followers and the Steem community. I think that there is too much good content on Steemit which remains overlooked everyday and lost in the blockchain.

Here you can see my latest report containing your post, which I’ve also upvoted and resteemed.

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-16-share-moments-steem-life

If you like this post you can say thank you by upvoting and following me.

NOTE: In Taica’s selection thread I am searching for a (in my opinion) genuine and nice, quality posts. The topic is not about giving my critique about the posts or authors that I include. It is simply something that I like and want to share with my followers. Should you disagree to be included in my topic, please let me know and your links will be removed. Thank you.

All the best @taica

Upvoted, followed and resteemed 😊