You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trinidad, Cuba: Two faces of a city. A photo documentary.

in #travel6 years ago

@pieter87 I hope you see this. I'm new to Steemit so I'm just now seeing this post, but that's so interesting that you said you feel Cuba is changing.

I haven't been there since 2012, so that makes me VERY curious about in what ways it's changing, because when I was there, I actually made friends with lots of locals!

I'm just like you and your girlfriend...I always try to connect with locals. What a shame you had a hard time in Cuba connecting. I wonder if they're less friendly now because of more American tourists?

I was always afraid of Cuba changing once direct flights from the US were allowed again...which is why I made it one of my goals to go before they were allowed. I was scared the whole time that something bad was going to happen to me for doing it, though haha.

I'm such a rule follower, that's like the one rule I've ever deliberately broken.

Sort:  

I discussed this with my cousin during Christmas. He's been there 2 year ago and again last year.

He said especially the more touristy places like Havana, Trinidad, Vinales,... are changing fast. Locals see lots of tourist coming and going and see that they can make easy money. For many of them, the tourist are walking ATM's. And especially with the Americans coming who have the habbit of giving big tips and don't complain when they get an excessieve restaurant bill.

He said they less touristy East still has the original Cuban vibe he liked during his first visit. The people are less greedy and more honest.