Motorcycle Shortcut Goes Through Wedding Ceremony!! (Only In Cambodia...)

in #travel6 years ago

Some roads lead to Nirvana...
Some roads lead to marijuana...
Some best not taken, while others need no brakin'...
There's a wedding in the road, you wanna?

Train To Nowhere...jpg

In 2015 I lived in Cambodia and was the English Teaching Coordinator for Opennet, the up and coming internet provider there... Certain evenings, I had classes across town, so it was always nice to hop on a moto and get a ride from a local... At certain times of the day, traffic can be horrendous... You can get burned on the exhaust pipe of the whatever next to you! Burned on the fumes, even... Thousands of motorcycles make up most of each street's gridlock, maybe similar to the minnows on steemit, LOL... A few cars and vans have heavier influence, like the dolphins! And the buses must be the whales... That is a great analogy...

It is dangerous as hell when it is crowded with vehicles! I had absolute trust in my moto driver to flow with traffic and get inches forward, at a time... When there IS a sidewalk, the motos are driving on that too...

So my favorite place to get decent marijuana was a last outpost of a forgotten neighborhood... It was lakefront, until the city paid the Chinese to fill it with sand... The development project failed, as the new acreage was declared unstable... One or two roads go across it, but I didn't like it... Seemed like a good place to get mugged... So I went to my weed place, and then around the lake to my lessons... You see a wheelchair scampering out of the way, and at one point my driver even went through a wedding... LOL! Only in Cambodia...

Sorry about the noise... I wanted to let you hear how my driver and I would interact... He drove me to the office and home every morning, so we were pretty much friends... I gave him my bed when I left the country... At one point he said don't film the wedding... LOL, I thought what he said was put your camera away... What a funny mix-up!

I hope you enjoyed a few minutes of living vicariously through my time in Cambodia... Check out other posts on my blog, for other Cambodia photography and crazy stories... I also have music posts with my original songs... I make crypto memes, and draw original cartoons... I post all that stuff... Resteem me if ya feel the love, mon!

Sort:  

Hilarious
The motorcycle sound Is not bad 😂
Wonderful experience

Thank you, maybe it is just the shock of it at first, that I notice... Also at the end when it is in the thick of traffic... The LOVE their horns! Honking must propel the traffic forward, LOL!