Exploring Japan - A Visit to Tadao Ando's Water Temple on Awaji Island

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

templefront12.jpg

I came to realise that there’s nothing worse than photographing concrete architecture on an overcast day. With your own eye it doesn’t make that much difference, but when you're photographing this type of architecture with your camera the problems with white balance and exposure are real. I tried my best when I visited the ‘Water Temple’, real name Shingonshu Honpukuji, on Awaji Island in Hyogo Prefecture.

To find this temple without a car is quite a mission! While following my GPS I was led in to two farmer’s fields and felt as though I was going in completely the wrong direction. When I finally arrived it was a nice experience walking around and down in to this temple designed by Japanese architect Tadao Ando and completed in 1991. The setup is a little peculiar due to the rural location, but I think the most iconic part of this temple are the stairs that cut through the middle of the pond on top and offer an entrance in to the circular shrine below.

Inside I was taken aback by the red used inside the shrine that contradicts the concrete below. Did you know the colour red is very important to Japanese. For example the colour of the sun is considered yellow here but in Japan they consider it as a red circle (hence the Japanese flag, white with a red circle, and the "land of the rising sun" name assigned to Japan itself). As you walk around the circular temple you arrive in the middle of the circular tube itself where you can find a statue of buddha. What’s fascinating about this temple is the shard of light that shines directly on the Buddha at around 3 or 4pm (depending on the season).

Overall I really liked this temple by Tadao Ando, and as a fan of architecture I thought it was worth visiting. The only thing I regret is actually getting a picture of this temple from above, but it’s near on impossible to capture as it’s quite confined. I tried my best with the photos above and below. I hope you like them and will visit Awaji when you travel to Japan, it's a nice island.

watertemp15.jpg

watertemp3.jpg

watertemp4.jpg

watertemp2.jpg

watertemp14.jpg

watertemp7.jpg

watertemp8.jpg

watertemp11.jpg

watertemp17.jpg

watertemp16.jpg

watertemp18.jpg

watertemp19.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Japan - A Visit to the Kyoto Concert Hall
Exploring Japan - A Walk Through Toji Market in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - Tadao Ando's Garden of Fine Arts in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kyoto Botanical Gardens
Exploring Japan - Yuzuruha Shrine in Kobe
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kosetsu Museum of Art Garden
Exploring Darwin - A Trip to Crocodylus Park


All photos captured by @oen

Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

You've done a good job on the photos, they look great.
The temple reminds me of a mix beteeen old subway entrance and modern art!
How long are you in japan for? Its always been somewhere i want to visit one day. Hopefully it'll happen!

Thanks so much. Yeah, his work is very minimalistic. I travel to Japan about twice a year for work. In-between I travel to different places for inspiration. Hope you can visit one day :)

The architectural design of this temple is very unique. Not until you are on the inside that you feel like you are in a temple.

So true. Inside it has that feeling of a temple, outside is very different. Thanks for your comment :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-japan-a-visit-to-tadao-ando-s-water-temple-on-awaji-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by robm19 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!