Exploring Japan - Akashi Kaikyō Suspension Bridge

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

awajibridge1.jpg

It's a little strange. I wasn't interested in bridges at all until I started photographing architecture. I think there's something quite mesmerising about the design of them and how they are able to suspend their weight over large distances. There's no better bridge to see than the Akashi Kaikyō suspension bridge that links the city of Kobe on the Japanese mainland of Honshu to Iwaya on Awaji Island.

My goal wasn't to see the bridge as such, but since I was travelling to Awaji Island to document more architecture by Tadao Ando I had to travel to this bridge to take the bus over to Awaji Island. As I ate my lunch underneath the bridge, with the many Japanese also ogling this massive structure, it just seemed incredible how it could span the distance to the other side. The centre span is the longest in the world at 1,991 metres (or 1.237 miles), the total bridge being 3,911 metres (or 2.430 miles). Quite amazing!

The Naruto whirlpools underneath the bridge are really cool too! They can't be seen here but they are tidal whirlpools in the Naruto Strait, a channel between Naruto in Tokushima and Awaji Island in Hyōgo, Japan and they look like giant vortexes in the water that could suck you in. You should definitely google it! Anyway, here are some pictures that I took of the bridge with my Fuji camera. I tried to abstract them a little and make the bridge seem even bigger, hopefully I achieved that in a few photos. Enjoy.

awajibridge9.jpg

awajibridge11.jpg

awajibridge10.jpg

awajibridge2.jpg

awajibridge3.jpg

awajibridge4.jpg

awajibridge5.jpg

awajibridge7.jpg

awajibridge8.jpg


More from my Travels:

Exploring Japan - A Visit to the Kyoto Concert Hall
Exploring Japan - A Walk Through Toji Market in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - Tadao Ando's Garden of Fine Arts in Kyoto
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kyoto Botanical Gardens
Exploring Japan - Yuzuruha Shrine in Kobe
Exploring Japan - A Visit to Kosetsu Museum of Art Garden
Exploring Darwin - A Trip to Crocodylus Park


All photos captured by @oen

Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-japan-akashi-kaiky-suspension-bridge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Awesome shot of this stylish bridge
I have always found bridges interesting but even more so since getting into photography

Yeah! I agree :) The structural elements are very interesting to capture.

That is fascinating. I like the reflection on the water and there looks like all sorts of neat little platforms. Probably not all accessible by foot right. And does it have train tracks too?

There are no train tracks but there is a small walkway underneath with a viewing box and a glass floor. I think it's free but I didn't have time to check it out. Thanks for commenting :)

Hi oen,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I find bridges very interesting because of the often many details.. love this post.. thank you for sharing

Hey @anouk.nox! Thanks for commenting :) Glad you liked it ...

Beautiful architecture - beautiful pics!

Thanks @marthastardust! :D Appreciate the comment and kind words

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by robm19 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That bridge is quite something! I can see in the next to the last picture just how far it spans to the other side. I haven't been to Japan yet, maybe one day.

I hope you can go one day :D It's a beautiful country.

This is really interesting what you tell here. And the photo's are pretty impressive. I should take a better look at bridges ... that's something I learned from your post.

Thanks so much. Appreciate the kind comments.

This was so stunning to me. Your composition is flawless and I love the soft colors the analog film creates, just beautiful shots.

I find it really interesting when someone can capture the beauty in an architectural feature many pass by unnoticed, then show that beauty to all of us. I think that is the telling of a true artist and one that helps everyone slow down and see the beauty around us.

Thanks for sharing these.

I appreciate the kind words. The camera did all the work! haha ;)

wowo...thanks for letting me see japan through your lenses...and congrats for the curie love...keep up the good work :)

No problem. I will try my best to share more pics from Japan.