You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Underwater adventures # 1- Humpback whale serenade (with sound)

in #travel7 years ago

Wow! Out of this world insane experience!!! Thank you so much for sharing something so very few of us will ever have the chance to see.
I cried when swimming with a giant turtle in Borneo a couple of years back, so I can only imagine a fraction of the emotions you must have felt while diving alongside these gentle creatures.

Sort:  

Thanks @osm0sis. We got back from dive and couldn't stop talking about it, once in a lifetime experience etc., etc. and then I'm not kidding you 6 days later we had a juvenile come up to us and swim around like a 'little' puppy. Where were you diving in Borneo? I dived Sipadan and have never seen so many turtles.

Lucky you... sometimes I wonder how living such intense moments doesn't just blow up our minds. Like a robot on overdrive!
I'm actually ashamed to say it but I have not yet had the guts (or the funds) to dive. I love swimming and diving where I can still see the bottom, the fish and the corals, but the emptiness of the deep blue sea below my feet scares the crap out of me! I did an initiation course to diving in Mabul, near Sipadan, for about 45 minutes. I think it was max 8 meters deep... felt more like 50!
Not sure where this fear comes from as all my friends are totally fine with it. They trust the equipment and this "unknown territory" without the slightest of apprehensions. I envy you guys!

I think you might like @kuenok's posts if you don't know him yet. He does a lot of underwater photography and tells his stories of freediving. He's been away from Steemit for a while, but hopefully he'll be back soon.

We're all just lunatics, you're a far wiser soul to not trust your life into the hands of a tank of air and some dodgy breathing apparatus!!!! When you said it was Borneo you saw the turtle I wondered if it'd be Mabul/Sipadan, so many turtles there it's crazy.
And will check out @kuenkok, thanks for the recommendation.

Haha my thoughts exactly!
Yes I saw a few turtles. Massive ones just hanging out, slowly swimming their way through the forest of multi-coloured corals. And manta rays too!
Did you have to get the permit to dive in Sipadan? What did you get to see there?