Opening Doors by Opening Your Own || Abriendo Puertas al Abrir la Tuya

in #travel6 years ago

received_10206766022101244.jpeg

A beach in West End, Roatan (Bay Islands) Honduras || Una playa en West End, Roatan (Islas de la Bahía, Honduras)


It has to start somewhere, right?

Very often you think you can trace where it all began. The truth is, there is no specific point in time, because everything you have done has brought you to where you are, both in your travels and in your life. In my own backpacking story, I would say the doors really started to open once I opened the door of my own home in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, for two Austrian travelers who were making their way down through Central America. Hosting couchsurfers, without even knowing couchsurfing was a thing back then, was how it actually really began to happen for me.

I remember reading and hearing stories of other people travelling and backpacking and the way they all made me feel. Something inside would tell me ‘It would be great to travel like that’ or ‘I will definitely do it myself one day!’. Living my life and being focused on other matters: a job, getting a degree or spending time with friends back home, I put the dream of seeing the world aside. But some dreams are rooted so deep inside us that there is no way you can escape them. I remember the day when, after a few years, having finished my degree and being busy looking for another job, I received a message from an Ecuadorian friend (whom I had hosted in my home once long ago) asking me if I could help out some of his international friends and give them some tips about where to stay and how to get to the Bay Islands in Honduras as they were travelling there for a famous music festival that happened once a year.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Muy a menudo creeríamos que podemos señalar en nuestros recuerdos dónde comenzó todo. La verdad es que no hay un momento específico en el tiempo, porque todo lo que has hecho en tu vida te ha llevado a donde estás, tanto en tus viajes como en tu vida misma. En mi propia historia de mochilero, diría que las puertas realmente comenzaron a abrirse una vez que abrí la puerta de mi propia casa en Tegucigalpa, Honduras, para dos viajeros austriacos que viajaban por América Central. Alojar couchsurfers, sin siquiera saber que el couchsurfing era una cosa en aquel entonces, fue como realmente comenzó a sucederme a mí.

Recuerdo leer y escuchar historias de otras personas que viajaban con sus mochilas y de la forma en que todas me hicieron sentir. Algo adentro me decía 'sería genial viajar así' o '¡Definitivamente lo haré yo mismo algún día!'. El tiempo pasó, Viviendo mi vida y centrándome en otros asuntos: un trabajo, obtener un título o pasar tiempo con amigos o en casa, puse el sueño de ver el mundo a un lado. Pero algunos sueños están arraigados tan profundamente en nosotros que no hay forma de que puedas escapar de ellos. Recuerdo el día en que, después de algunos años, después de haber terminado mi carrera y estar ocupado buscando otro trabajo, recibí un mensaje de un amigo ecuatoriano (a quien había alojado en mi casa hace mucho tiempo) preguntándome si podía ayudar a algunas de sus amistades internacionales y darles algunos consejos sobre dónde alojarse y cómo llegar a las Islas de la Bahía en Honduras, ya que viajaban allí para un famoso festival de música que sucedía una vez al año.


received_10206766049021917.jpeg

Yep, a place like this exists. The Bay Islands are a jewel! | Sip, un lugar como este existe. Las Islas de la Bahía son una joya!


Long story short, not only I ended up hosting his friends at my place, but I also went with them to the festival (That year, 2016, witnessed the very last edition of that festival) . After experiencing what the backpacker vibe felt like, and being part of an amazing crew of people I met and with whom I had one of the best times ever on the Caribbean Islands of my own country, I decided it was my time to do it. It came down to me like an epiphany of pure wanderlust, while dancing euphorically to vibrating music in one of the most beautiful places this world has to offer.

After parting ways with incredible friends who were continuing their journey to Guatemala, I knew the time had come. Some weeks later I was already off to start my own adventure on the road. About those stories and adventures I am going to blog about soon! Dedicating a post for every country I visited.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

En resumidas cuentas, no solo terminé hospedando a sus amistades en mi casa, sino que también fui con ellos y ellas al festival (ese año, 2016, fue testigo de la última edición de ese festival). Después de experimentar cómo se sentía el ambiente de los mochileros, y formar parte de un increíble grupo de personas que conocí y con quien tuve uno de los mejores momentos en las Islas del Caribe de mi propio país, decidí que era el momento de hacerlo. Me abordó un sentimiento, una epifanía de pura pasión por viajar (eso que llaman wanderlust), mientras bailaba eufóricamente al ritmo de la música vibrante en uno de los lugares más hermosos que este mundo tiene para ofrecer.

Después de despedirme de unos amigos y amigas increíbles que continuaban su viaje hacia Guatemala, supe que había llegado el momento. Algunas semanas más tarde ya estaba fuera para comenzar mi propia aventura en el camino. De estas historias y aventuras, espero escribir pronto dedicando un post por cada país que visité!


received_10206766047341875.jpeg

Paradise on Earth. | Paraíso en la tierra

Big thanks to everyone for reading through! Pics were taken by and credits are to A. Worek

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gracias a tod@s por leer! Espero les inspire. Fotografias tomadas por y créditos son para A. Worek

Sort:  

Hey! Nice to meet you!!! Eres de Honduras? Me encanta centro america! Solo he ido a las ruinas de Copan en Honduras.

Hago couchsurfing tambien!! Que chido que lo haces tambien!! Ha abrido muchas puertas para mi, y me encanta CS.

"But some dreams are rooted so deep inside that there is no way you can escape them" <--lo has dicho perfectamente. La isla es tan bonita! Me alegro que hayas podido ir!

Y las nubes en la ultima foto son increibles!!!

Encantado! Gracias por tu comentario. Si, soy Hondureño :) Que bueno que te haya gustado estar por acá! Centroamérica tiene muchas joyas, la recorrí en mi último viaje de mochilero por Latinoamérica antes de visitar Europa. Copan es hermoso! Me alegra que también compartas esa pasión (bendito wanderlust, eh? Jajaja) Si en algún futuro deseas conocer más de Honduras estoy a la orden. Un gran saludo!

Wow! Great story, bro! I think this really highlights a priciple of life that says that giving is how we receive. Similarly, it is sowing seed that we can reap.

The Bay Islands are a jewel! | Sip, un lugar como este existe. Las Islas de la Bahía son una joya!

I am very proud to live here. Whever you want to come back, let me know. I can maybe help you out with lodging and transport.

Many thanks brother! I appreciate your words. And I surely will contact you if I am to come back to Roatan sometime! That would be great. And I totally agree on the what you give is what you get principle. Regards!

Good story :)

Thanks mate! Appreciated :)

Next visit, Bay Islands for sure! 🏝

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pauliecruz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Que lugares muy chulos y hermosos Espero visitar Centro America pronto !!!

Lo son en verdad! Centroamérica tiene muchas joyas, vale la pena conocer sus lugares y su gente! Gracias por tu comentario. Saludos!