Impressions from travel to Munich

in #travel7 years ago

During 3-day trip you cannot get to know any place or city, but you can get certain impressions.
First of all, I would like to say that my expectations were high, we all (I mean people from South Europe) think that the Germany completely differs from the world we live in. Bearing that in mind I settled to the "promised" land Germany, to be more precise to one of it's most famous cities - Munich.

IMG-20170704-WA0049.jpg

During the travel, I used to walk as much as I could trying to see all the buildings and architecture from my imagination, but there were none. Munich seems to be just an ordinary industrial city, without many spectacular sites, at least that's my opinion. I expected way more. After those thoughts, I would like to explain myself.

IMG-20170704-WA0074.jpg

Well, I expected to see all ethnic groups during the visit, as the consequence of the immigration wave that hit Germany recently, but I also expected to see Orthodox Germans, but there were none, maybe I was unlucky and wasn't looking at the right places, but that's my experience. Moreover, I liked very much Marienplatz beautiful square, gorgeous city hall, I think it's gothic. But, there's always but, right :)), there were mice, not too many, but that's impossible to happen on Zagreb's main square. I couldn't believe it, my friends were also surprised, we expected cleaner city.

IMG-20170704-WA0073.jpg

I love people, and it always emotionally affects me when I see many homeless poor, people, and Munich is full of them. They are sleeping in groups on streets, and I must say that I haven't seen anything like that in Croatia.

The third thing that I've noticed is that city is, in my opinion, quite chaotic. What I mean by that is that on almost every street is a construction site. I don't mind it at all, but you have to walk between diggers and other heavy machinery trying to cross the road. People are always in a hurry, but I believe that's the common feature of all "Western" developed countries.

IMG-20170704-WA0101.jpg

The thing that improved my impression was the Englischer Garten, a huge park (like Hyde Park in London). It's the perfect place for strolling around, jogging, enjoying the sun, lakes and streams. It'a an absolute refreshment for the city.

IMG-20170704-WA0095.jpg

The second, true and bright part of my visit was BMW Welt and factory. This was absolutely astonishing, and I would recommend it to anyone whose journey brings him/her to Munich. I am only sorry that there was no time to visit Olympic village, I am sure that it is impressive to see.

IMG_20170703_142026.jpg

All in all my high expectations for Munich weren't quite met. I expected to see a clean city, full of all ethnic groups (including German people), stunning architecture on every corner. I thought that one of the major cities in the most developed country of EU doesn't look like that, I personally didn't like it for now, but I would certainly give it a second chance. Munich we will see each other again!

IMG-20170704-WA0012.jpg

But as I always leave a room for but, I am aware that 3 days aren't enough to get to know a city, but it's enough to get certain impressions. I would still recommend you to visit Munich and to get your own impressions so we could discuss, and please share your thoughts in comment section.

IMG-20170704-WA0038.jpg
P.S. I cannot finish this post without mentioning famous German beer taverns - they're absolutely great! Hail German beer!

Picture Sources: All photos are taken and owned by myself!