Visiting Philip Island Victoria Australia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit community,

In this post I am talking about another location visited during my stay in Victoria Australia.

CIMG9932.JPG

The Island of my same name Philipp. Situated on south east of Melbourne it is reacheable from the mainland of Australia through one bridge or by ferry. Many people living in Melbourne choose this location to spend a weekend or their holidays.
It is not a huge island approximately twenty-five kilometers from one side to the other.

CIMG9930.JPG

I did not have a car neither I rent one. So once I left my luggage in my accommodation I had to catch a local bus to move around the island.

CIMG9951.JPG

....Sometimes walking and on the way and find typical Australian road signs and unfortunately local animals dead beside the road because probably were collided with cars or trucks.

CIMG9929.JPG

My first visit was the wildlife park in which for the first time in my life I have seen wallabies and kangaroos.

CIMG0018.JPG

In the entrance they provide a bag with food to feed the animals when I was about to finish it I kept in one of my pocket.

When the food in that bag was about to run out I kept in my pocket. Walking around the park I approached one of the kangaroos. He looked very hungry. In the next picture I show what happen after once let him the whole bag .

CIMG0004.JPG

In the next picture a red kangaroos considered the largest marsupial.......

CIMG0009.JPG

CIMG0008.JPG

My second visit was in the Koala conservation centre

CIMG9953.JPG

Here I have seen koalas for my first time. It is not allowed to hold one of them. It is possible to see them only from defined paths. It was interesting to have the possibility of hearing their sound or see them sleeping on the trees.

CIMG9960.JPG

CIMG9957.JPG

CIMG9966.JPG

It has been interesting and attractive!!!

CIMG9964.JPG

Now I would show the main town in Philip Island the name was Cowes

CIMG0020.JPG

Actually I found this town not very crowded and busy probably because I was when the high seasons ended . I heard during the summer season all the area was very busy.

CIMG0022.JPG

CIMG0021.JPG

Cowes features north-facing beaches with fine sand overlooking French Island and Mornington Penisula . Stroll the explanade where cruises depart from Seal Rock , French Island and around the bay. A small village with some shopping, houses, restaurant and bars.

CIMG0024.JPG

CIMG0025.JPG

CIMG0023.JPG

And some history....

CIMG0026.JPG

In my hostel I met a guy who rent a car and had to go to the pinguin parade. He gave me a lift we saw the show together. On the way we pass close to the famous Gran Prix Circuit of Philipp Island and we did not have time to stop over

CIMG9937.JPG

It is forbidden to take picture to the small pinguins because they scare and hurt of the flash.

CIMG9942.JPG

Philipp Island has much more to see but I was unable to explore and show you. Because I did not have the car and I could not rent a bike. That's a pity!!

To conclude this post I upload these pictures taken from the hostel in Philip Island !!! Australia always offer beautiful sky colours

CIMG0035.JPG

CIMG0034.JPG

Thanks for your attention hope you like it and follow me in the next posts where I will talk about another location I have visited in Victoria.

All my photos are mine and they were taken with my camera Casio EX-Z60

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-philip-island-victoria-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

good rapporteur Phil. Followed you man