How to make Spicy Bedouin Hot Tea ~ From the desert of Wadi Rum Jordan!

in #travel7 years ago

Spicy Bedouin Hot Tea Recipe


2 teaspoons dried thyme 

2 teaspoons sage 

2 cardamom pods

1 cinnamon stick

4 teaspoons loose black tea  

wild honey or sugar (Optional)

4 cups of water

(Desert herbs of marmaraya and habuck are used by traditional Bedouins)


To Prepare

Heat water with all ingredients except honey

Simmer for 5 minutes

Steep or rest for 5 minutes

Strain tea and pour in cup

Add honey or sugar to taste ~ Enjoy!


Best when it is slow brewed over hot coals.

Make plenty and enjoy with friends! 

Bedouin means “inhabitant of the desert,” and refers to a group of semi-nomadic, tribal people that live here in the Wadi Rum Desert of southern Jordan.  

At our Bedouin camp, we settled in to our traditional goat-hair tent with plenty of new friends, stories and refreshing Spicy Bedouin Hot Tea! 



Thank you Lord!


If you have come from my website, http://www.pilgrimtraveler.com 

Twitter, https://twitter.com/KarenGentry99  

Facebook, http://facebook.com/karenspassport 

Or any of my other social media channels, please consider getting your free account here on Steemit.


"Join the adventure and be inspired." - Karen Gentry @pilgrimtraveler 


Blessings from PilgrimTraveler!

© 2017 PilgrimTraveler. All Rights Reserved.


Sort:  

and it just decided it wanted to turn into winter here today. two days ago, shorts and a t-shirt. today, 35 mph winds and snow flurries. that makes this weekend a perfect time for trying a new tea! thx and CHEERS! xrelish.

Winter already wow, yes hot Bedouin tea would be comforting. Warm blessings!

Great travel photos and nice recipe, I want to try that i oftent make chai so this will be a nice alternative!

Thank you kindly, if you like chai tea you will be very happy with spicy Bedouin tea. Warm blessings!

Thanks for the recipe! I would love to hear more about how modern Bedouins live, eat, dress, play, pray, and so on!

Thank you for sharing, I would be happy to post about this area and it's people in the future. :)

I really did not know how to make Bedouin Tea, thanks to you, I do now.

My pleasure, warm blessings!

Yes that tea is very good.

Yes indeed, let's have another cup @exploretraveler :)

To me the most useful article of the day! I could kill for this kind of delicious drink in this very moment. It does something incredibly soothing to your mind, don't you think?

Thank you!!!! xxx

upvoted

🙋🙋🙋@pilgrimtraveler beautiful pictures. ..

Beautiful picture@pilgrimtraveler

I love tea from desert, with some cakes 😍

Wonderful, warm blessings!

beautiful pictures.; I know the jordanian desert beautiful but you way in taking pictures is really wonderful; hope you come to visit Algerian desert and take amazing pictures like that. Algerian desert is really wonderful espcially during sunset and sunrise you will make astonation pictures. you are welcome in my country. please have a look about my wall you willl some articles about my country.

Thank you very kindly, warm blessings!

you are welcome anytime. there is such an amazing place in Algerian desert called tassili. and another one called askraam. you will see wonderful places.

I could use a cup of that right now. Looks good!

It is wonderful, warm blessings! :)

Very good post. . Good job

Thank you very much, warm blessings!

Beautiful photos and place.

Thank you kindly, warm blessings!

This is interesting. Will try this . But this can't be traditional recipe I suppose. Getting cinnamon and cardamom would've been difficult for desert dwellers in older times I guess

nice post. I guess the thyme and sage makes it really refreshing in that heat.

You should be really proud on the first picure! It is absolutely beautiful! Riding a camel is on my bucketlist so maybe I should go there some day to, than I can also try the tea

Great photos and I've had that tea.
it's quite good. Amazing how welcome it is in both the hot days and cold nights.

I want to go here, great post @pilgrimtraveler

It is a great adventure, thanks so much!

All healthy ingridients less the sugar

Good point, I like no sugar in my tea.

it sounds so delicious this is my friend tea, i like, my friend plan it with camel want to kemana.sobat i have new post, please visit my friend.

Thank you for sharing this, warm blessings my friend! :)

thanks buddy who always support me.

Goog jop

Thank you kindly! :)

yes.
Bring your brother yes

This is a cool post, I love tea so much!

As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get lost.

You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Thank you kindly! :)

The best!! :D

I like the way you think! :D

beautiful view of Sahara I invite you to visit my blog you will find video and music of Tuareg the people of Sahara algerien.nice posts thank you
blog.png

Thank you, warm blessings!

I will try this recipe, it looks exotic.

I believe you will love it! Warm blessings

please upvote me

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 22.83 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @pilgrimtraveler. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 17.39 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @pilgrimtraveler.

Thank you :)

This post has received a 9.03 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @pilgrimtraveler.

This post has received a 15.13 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @pilgrimtraveler. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thank you so much for this God bless. I will try these recipes soon.

Nice. Where is this taken

This post has received a 1.45 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @steemthat

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This Post Has Been Quality Verified By @steemthat Promotion Services. This post has received a 48.48 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @boomerang.

For Doing Such A Great Job Let Me Give You A Free Membership To https://SteemThat.com

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow! Loved your post. I am definitely making this tea tonight. Have had it few years ago with my friend and still can remember its unique taste. Thanks for sharing!

Wow! Loved your post. I am definitely making this tea tonight. Have had it a few years ago with my friend and still can remember its unique taste. Thanks for sharing!

Hey, that looks good. Thanks for the recipe.

Sounds refreshingly tasty and healthy @pilgrimtraveler will have to try that recipe.

Definitely would like to give this one a try. Thanks for the recipe, the pictures, and the glimpse into a culture I don't get a chance to see much of!