Slow travel in Venice, Italy: Today

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

After a hectic last year, I needed a reset. Covid doesn't let us freely take the plane to any random place, so it took me a while to find the right spot to go to. It turned out that these circumstances were ideal to go to Venice. This virus made this city, normally overrun by tourists, a once in a lifetime opportunity. I booked a one-way ticket to Venice and booked a long stay AirBnB...

I haven't been out much the past few days, because I wasn't feeling too well. Today, it was time... it was already pretty late when I was ready to leave the apartment. But I decided it was good to go anyway and see what the city would do after dark.

I walked around the city and noticed that the lack of bridges sort of make you end up walking the same streets as before when you started in a different location. When I noticed that I walked past the same shop as a few days ago, I tried to get lost on purpose. Time to see new streets! The result was a regular experience of dead-end alleys...

A few days ago I got my public transport card and I am now able to go on any Vaporetto trip for 1,40 euro. It is basically like a hop on hop off boat (don't tell the locals though, they hate tourists abusing their public transport for sightseeing). You can't really get lost in Venice anyway. So when I had the feeling I was walking in circles in the area where I was in, I jumped on the first boat that stopped there. It was going to Lido, another island in the Venice Lagoon.

"Why not", I thought... The boat sailed past Saint Marc's Square with the sun setting in the background. The colors were so good that I had to just take a quick photo on my phone that I am now sharing with you guys. I'll do my best to make a better one in the coming weeks!!

image.png

So I ended up in Lido, it was already dark when I arrived there. I walked to the empty beach on the other side of the island and found a quiet bench where I just chilled and listened to the waves. Anyone could just have robbed and killed me there without getting noticed, but I survived.

Lido was boring... It was just a street with restaurants and bars and a beach. Maybe it's better during the day. Maybe it's better during the summer. I'll give it another shot, promised!

On my way back to my AirBnB, I walked past my favorite restaurant and placed a quick order that I could take away. The owner gave me a glass of prosecco while I waited. That was super nice, but I don't really like alcohol. I drank it anyway... I am sort of afraid that this will become a habit now, where he will slowly turn me into an alcoholic if I keep coming there... But the food is just so good!!

Anyway, I am now back. Ready to go to bed. This travel is a little slower than anticipated and hopefully I can pick up the pace. Still plenty of time!

To be continued...