Lessons learned from my travel to Krabi.

in #travel8 years ago

Well recently I went to Krabi with my friend. It's our 1st getaway together on a different country. But along the journey, some interesting events happened and we obviously learned some lessons that we can apply on our next trip. Here are they:

  • Get a flight if there's flights flying to the area. - Yes. We have cheap flights from Penang to Krabi (Sometime cost less than USD 20 to fly) but me and my friend decided to take bus and van instead. Our travel time was national holiday in Malaysia. A lot of Malaysians travelling to Thailand by car and bus thus create a massive 5 hours crawl to the border. And due to that, we missed our van from Hat Yai to Krabi. Endup chartering another van to Krabi. Plus, it's tiring to travel for so long (Spent 14 hours traveling).
  • Do some research on the weather season of the place that you are traveling. - We spend time on searching for places to visit but ignored this. End-up it was a rainy reason in Krabi, we couldn't visit a lot of places due to the weather and almost got our island tour cancelled.
  • Powerbank, an important device when you are travelling. - I always thought I don't need a powerbank because I'm not a heavy smartphone user. Mainly messaging and calling people. But I realized when you are travelling, you need it. Specially long travel. Half way thru the journey, my phone was dead and I couldn't contact my loved ones until I reached my hotel. Not only that, at Krabi, since we navigating ourself without help of tour guide, I really on my Waze and Google Maps for direction. That will drain your battery as well. 
  • Get a dedicated camera instead of using smartphone camere for photo shooting. - This is a personal preference of mine. I felt it's better to have a dedicated camera (DSLR, point and shoot camera or GoPro) to capture photo instead of using phone to do it. People think why need a dedicated camera since my phone can do it and with smartphone camera become better and better. Like I mentioned, just a personal preference. 

So here are the lesson we learned after our Krabi trip. It will certainly help us a lot on our next trip to somewhere. 

Below is the picture of me and my friend snorkeling at Chicken Island. 


Sort:  

Its good that you learn this lesson)

Yes. It will make next travel much better experience.

Thanks for sharing!! Good luck!

I was to krabi this year, a little too crowded. I can honestly advise against going to Phi Phi Beach in full daylight and full season. More crowded than Christmas in a shopping mall :D Great article!

I agree with you, Phi Phi is crowded and the boats are packed.

Waterproof camera is a must, I would totally recommend a GoPro because the photos clicked on them speak out nicely.

Don`t forget to carry a waterproof bag on the boat rides and also a waterproof phone cover, so that your phone is with you even while snorkelling