Kurt the Travelpug #1 : West Portugal and Algarve

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_0086.jpg
Hey everyone. My name is Kurt and I am a pug. Together with my 2 fellow humans I live in cologne, germany and like travelling across europe whenever I can. We travel with my personal carriage, a Volkswagen California.

With this blog I want to share these experiences with all steemians on a regular basis. This contains everything that I find worth sharing - especially pictures. In general, all me and my humans really plan is a destination region. The rest just happens spontaneously.

Feel free to ask anything in the comments below.

Journey to Portugal

We planned to travel 2 weeks through portugal, starting somewhere south of Lisbon, heading south and going through the south coast - namely algarve.
To get to the west coast of portugal, we hat to go ~2.300km. Due to the fact that I have to eat and do other dog stuff on a regular basis, we wanted to span the journey from friday afternoon to sunday noon. Crossing france cost a total of ~100€ of toll, where spain was much cheaper with around 30€. The reason we payed the toll was, that we saved around 5 hours of driving which is nearly a full vacation day in portugal.
The bad thing was, that we lost air pressure in one of our tires after the first 2 hours of driving. As a result, my Human#1 had to stop every 300km to refill the tire. But on the bright side: This gave me the opportunity to go for a short walk every time with my Human#2.

West Coast of Portugal

In portugal we only had to head for a real camping site to fill up our water supply. But one has to say that it is VERY IMPORTANT to leave the places you have been exactly the way you found them. Unfortunately, there are still many peolpe around who just leave their trash when they leave.

At the west coast, we basically watched google maps for roads that are close to the coast or a beach at best. We drove from one side to the next and stayed where we liked it. The best place we found was the one you can see on pictures 4,5 and 6. We had a small private beach and our own natural water source there.

IMG_0076.jpg

IMG_0068.jpg

IMG_0166.jpg

IMG_0292.jpg

IMG_0298.jpg

IMG_0314.jpg

IMG_0253.jpg

IMG_0243.jpg

IMG_0277.jpg

At the end of the West Coast journey, we reached Cabo da Roca (Cape Roca) which forms the westernmost extent of europe.

IMG_0433.jpg

Algarve

When we finally reached the Algarve, we were really looking forwand to find a nice place on or near the beach where we could stay for a couple of days. But this turned out to be a really tough task. The main problem on the algarve is, that it is - compared to the west coast - rather touristic. Many people travel around with renting cars, it is harder to find good authentic restaurants etc. It took us almost 2 full days to find the spots you can see in the pictures below, but is was totally worth it. Especially the second site was great. My two humans took me for a moring walk directly at the beach every day.

IMG_0482.jpg

IMG_0475.jpg

IMG_0615.jpg

IMG_0625.jpg

IMG_0605.jpg

IMG_0491.jpg

Conlusion

After the whole journey, I have to say that I liked both the west coast and algarve very much. There certainly is more tranquillity but also much more wind that can lead to rather uncomfortable moments. The algarve is much more touristic, but thats okay if you try to avoid the main season. In fall it is just perfect to get the last warm days of the year and living basically on the beach. The humans just need bring enough water and food.

See you on the next journey!

IMG_0055.jpg
Kurt the Travelpug

Sort:  

hey guys, i really enjoyed your post and photos :D
one advice, try making one #introduceyourself post, in that way you verify your account, verify that you are not bot or double account, and qualify for really nice rewards, and this post certainly deserves decent payout :)
keep up with good posts, i'm following you and waiting for good stuff!

Thank you for the advice :)

Welcome Pug

What a fun post! Before I was a human mommy I was a dog mommy (well still am a dog mommy), but my dogs have always been a light in my life. They are my babies! Such an amazing bond we share with our animals. How fun you get to go on this adventure with your dog! Stop on over to my page and say hello ! I look forward to reading more from you guys! :)

@chelseajo

MommyBlogButton.gif

0828141416a.jpg

IMG_4185.JPG

HI pug, I'm a somewhat silly looking Great Dane/ Aussie mix.. come over and say hello @pawsdog.... We talk, dogs, crypto and everything in between...

Kurt, you are very very lucky. Enjoyed your post.

Waoo!! this is amazing i love the pics.

Pug, am having goose bumps , loving the pictures.. u have awesome humans. keep us entertained. looking forward to your posts

Loved Portugal, thanks for bringing back some great memories for me!

Very Jelly! Cant let my pup see this, he may want to swap his human for yours 😅

Welcome to Steemit, Kurt. You are a cute pug. I will look forward to seeing more of your adventure with your human's. :)

Lol.. Absolutely brilliant! Beautiful pictures :-)

Awesome photos Mr Pug.

Super cute!! Awesome pics as well

Hey!
Indeed, you did a wonderful journey!
My advice as citizen of Portugal, you should also visit Porto, one of the best place to do tourism.

I left you nice picture of Porto, Portugal

cinqueterre-1220451-640x480.jpg

Image source: https://pt.freeimages.com/photo/cinqueterre-1220451

What a cool idea this was!! I have to be honest I may borrow the concept!! :) I've got a ton of content with my human as I take him on trips on our moto from time to time.

Feel free to do so :)

love you kurt..........love your post....

Congratulations @ralleur!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 94,87

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ralleur to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!